Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Moving Image Collections in Special Collections & University Archives

This is a guide to archival moving image collections in Special Collections & University Archives.

Preferred Citation Format

Identification of item, Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Permissions and Fees

Permissions
The University of Oregon Libraries Special Collections & University Archives offers scholars, researchers, students, and the general public the opportunity to purchase and use materials from our moving image collections. Requests must be secured in writing from the department for any kind of use or distribution. 
 

To use any of our moving image materials, please fill out the Reproduction & Permissions Requests form. A staff person from Special Collections & University Archives will respond via email to facilitate the request.

Copyright Information
The University of Oregon Libraries Special Collections and University Archives, is the owner of the moving images it offers for purchase and use. However, in many instances, the Library does not necessarily own copyright, which may be owned by an separate individual, artist, artist’s estate, or other person or entity. The Library endeavors to provide information that it possesses about the copyright status for such works; however, the Library offers no guarantee that all pertinent information is provided or that the information is correct in each circumstance.

Therefore, it is the sole responsibility of the person seeking permission from the Libraries to determine whether any additional permission, such as copyright clearance, is necessary and, if so, for obtaining the required permission and related written documentation.

Rates and Fees

*NOTE: This list serves as a guideline for our pricing structure. Fees may change based on project size and scope. All costs are per clip. More information is available here: http://library.uoregon.edu/special-collections/rates.

Exhibition

Type of Use

Commercial

Non-Commercial

Traveling

$50

$25

Permanent

$100

$50

Publicity Use Included in fee.

Online Display may be an additional fee.

 

Website, Online Digital Application

Commercial

Non-Commercial

$100

$50

 

Television Broadcast

 

Broadcast

Broadcast and All Media

1-5 Clips/Images

$50

$100

5-10 Clips/Images

$500

$1000

+Internet Use

$50

Subsidiary Media Rights (Web, CD-ROMS, DVDs)

$50

 

Film/Documentary

Distribution Type

Commercial

Non-Commercial

Local

$25

$25

National

$100

$25

Worldwide

$150

$25

Subsidiary Media Rights (Web, CD-ROMS, DVDs)

$50

$50

 

Commercial Advertising

Based on a negotiated rate. Contact Curator.

 

Project Fee

At the discretion of the Curator, a project fee can be negotiated for projects requesting multiple images per project.

 

 

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Mission | Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift