Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Moving Image Collections in Special Collections & University Archives

This is a guide to archival moving image collections in Special Collections & University Archives.

Preferred Citation Format

Identification of item, Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Access to Archival Moving Images

All of our moving image materials are available for research and use in projects or productions, with approval from the relevant copyright owners.

Access to specific materials may vary according to the condition and format of the original film or videotape, and the availability of playback equipment. Materials may not be viewed in their original format, but must be digitized for access. The cost of digitization will be passed on to the person requesting access, and the cost will vary according to the quality of digital transfer required. 

All requests for digitization, access to materials, or for footage must be submitted through the Reproduction & Permissions Requests Form.


A small selection of digitized films are available on the University of Oregon Libraries' YouTube channel.

Selected content has been digitized from the following collections, and is available for viewing upon request:

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Mission | Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift