Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Women, Gender, and Sexuality in Special Collections

This guide offers brief descriptions of relevant Women in Society collections. Links are provided whenever online inventories exist.

Teaching with Primary Source Materials

Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.

Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.

Women's Family Papers | SCUA Collections Documenting Women, Gender, and Sexuality

Special Collections and University Archives collects in the topical area Women, Gender, and Sexuality, including Women’s Back to the Land movement, women linguists focusing on gender issues in language, women who have affected the political process and cultural landscape.

Bauer, Lydia M., compiler.

Song Book. 1858-1859. 1 vol.
Lydia M. Bauer compiled this book of German and English songs, both hymns and ballads, which were written by a member of the Aurora Colony in Oregon.
(F 811 B326)

Bishop, Mrs. E. Harden, collector.

Collected Proofs. 1 box.
The collection includes a galley proof of Willa Cather\'s Death Comes for the Archbishop and page proofs of Joseph Hergesheimer\'s Tampico, Hope Mirrlees\' Lud-in-the-Mist, and Elinor Wylie\'s Orphan Angel.
(F813 B541)

Booth, Georgia Belle, collector

Letters and photographs. 1865-1877. 1 folder.
The collection includes two letters from Samuel Headrick, sheriff of Marion County, Oregon, 1865 and 1867; a letter from George W. Case of Eugene, Oregon, 1877; and three photographs of Samuel Headrick and Mrs. Headrick.
(A 170)

Brown, Laura S., collector.

Political cartoons. ca. 1930-1950. 35 items.
Laura Brown, a Portland resident, collected these political cartoons, many of which are by Edward S. "Tige" Reynolds.
(CA B813)

Brunig, Mrs. Keith, collector.

Miscellaneous letters. 1863-1864. 6 letters.
The letters, collected by Mrs. Brunig, are from the Civil War Era.
(A 255)

Hendricks, Ida B.

Papers. 1882-1885. 17 pieces.
Ida B. Hendricks graduated from the University of Oregon in 1885. She collected these compositions, orations, and mementos relating to the University of Oregon.
(A 50)

Miller, Lydia Ann.

See Bauer, Lydia M.

Miller, Pherne. (b. 1890)

Collection. 1868-1976.
Pherne Miller collected anything about her uncle, poet and playwright Cincinnatus Hiner "Joaquin" Miller. The collection includes 14 original letters by Joaquin Miller.
(Ax 864)

Von Rhein, Amy Estes, collector.

Collection. 1890-1950. 4 ft.
This collection of Portland, Oregon memorabilia includes photographs, playbills, clippings, and autographs.
(CA V897)

Warner, Gertrude Bass (1863-1951).

Papers. 1914-1920. 4.5 ft.
Gertrude Bass Warner was the founder of the University of Oregon\'s Museum of Art. The collection includes diaries about trips to Japan, notes on Shinto festivals and shrines, and a manuscript entitled When West Meets East, a guide to Japanese Customs.
(F915.2 W244)

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

Preferred Citation Format for SCUA Materials

[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Mission | Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.

Historical Collection Strengths

  • Oregon history, politics, culture
  • Authors and illustrators of children’s books
  • The conservative and libertarian movement in the last half of the twentieth century
  • Popular literature, with an emphasis on Western fiction
  • Missionaries to foreign countries, especially in the Far East
  • Labor History
  • Journalism and Communications
  • Photographs of the Northwest, including the Major Lee Moorhouse and Angelus Studio collections
  • Environmental history
  • Northwest literature, including fiction by Ken Kesey, Damon Knight, Kate Wilhelm, Ursula K. Le Guin, Molly Gloss, and William Stafford
  • Doris Ulmann photograph archives of Appalachia
  • Utopian and intentional communities
  • Northwest architecture
  • Northwest economic history
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift