Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Getting Started with Research: An Overview of the Process

A guide through the library research process. Contact a librarian for more!

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Google Scholar Search Widget

Google Scholar Search

BrowZine Search

Search e-journals

Access to Trial Databases

Trial Databases

Trial databases offer free access for a given period to journal articles and other resources covering many disciplines and special interests—everything from New World cinema to Russian mass media to sports medicine. UO students, faculty, and staff can explore the databases during the trial period and provide feedback on their usefulness. To access these trial databases from off-campus, you must log into the UO VPN Client software. 

Install the VPN to use Trial Databases

Citation Chaining in Google Scholar (Video Tutorial)

Citation chaining (or chasing) is the name for a process in which you use an information source to find other work that is cited within the first source (backwards chaining) or cites to the first source (forward chaining). 

Below is a YouTube video on how citation chaining works in Google Scholar. Keep in mind that you should never have to pay for an article while you are at UO Libraries. Contact your Subject Librarian for help locating materials. In this video, look for a "fluff word" that the researcher uses when searching.

A-Z Database List

Databases A-Z logo from website

If you know which database you want, use the dropdown menu above to choose it. If you want to browse the databases by subject, click on the link on the left and use the filters to explore our subscription databases! 

Look at other Subject guides to see which databases the Subject Librarians recommend for that discipline/major.

Finding Articles

Library databases (sometimes called indexes) are like search engines but search scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.

Many library databases provide the full text of articles. Look for a full-text link next to your article, or use the   icon in the database to connect to the complete article.

Some databases are multi-disciplinary, and are useful for all kinds of topics:

Not sure where to start? Try using one of these...

Some databases focus on a specific subject or discipline:
Searching for a specific article?

Some databases contain unique materials such as dissertations, primary sources, images, music, videos, and government documents. Browse library databases for more suggestions.

Searching Databases (Video Tutorial)

Watch this video from Yavapai College Library to learn how to search library databases.

Strategies for Narrowing your Search to get Better Results

Below are 4 top strategies to narrow your search:

  1. Use AND between keywords to find articles where two or more keywords appear together

Aspirin AND Children AND Reye's Syndrome = Venn Diagram showing overlap between all three terms indicating search results will include all three.

Image from University of Minnesota Libraries

  1. Use the filters/narrowers in the search interface to limit your search results to a specific date range or resource type (format: book, journal article, news article, etc.)

LibrarySearch showing Aspirin AND Children AND "Reye's Syndrome" with filters for Resource type: Articles and Date: 2009-2019 applied.

  1. Add a Subject Term (found in a database's Index or Thesaurus) to your search to find results that are "tagged" with that term to indicate they are "about" that topic/idea. Tip: Use just 1 or 2 Subject Terms per search so you don't get too narrow too quickly and end up with too few results.

Screenshot of Academic Search Premier Database showing the location of the thesaurus or "Subject Terms" search interface 

After adding a Subject Term to your search, click "Search" and then combine with additional keywords using AND. Note where the Subject Term shows up in your results:

Screenshot of Search using the Subject term "Reye's syndrome" and where it appears in the results

  1. Choose a database that is limited to your major, subject, or discipline. Use the link below to find a research guide with database recommendations for your discipline!

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO).

You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.

A screen shot of a search in Academic Search Premier for "Pacific Northwest" AND conservative*

This screen shot shows various options for getting the full text of this article through the UO Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Premier. If your article doesn't have a PDF or HTML full text, click the FindText button FindText button to get to this screen: 

Screenshot of the Get It link when full text is available in a database

When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you (up to the limit of $30 for students/staff and $60 for faculty per document. See About Borrowing for more). Click the Find Text button below the search result you want, and then look for the Check availability link.

Screenshot of Check Availability link in database with options for Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery.

Choose Interlibrary Loan for physical items (books, DVDs) to get them in 1-3 weeks from another library outside of Summit or for electronic items (PDFs of journal or magazine articles) to get them in 24-48 hours at no cost to you. Document Delivery is for requesting an electronic copy of an article or book chapter that the University of Oregon Libraries has in physical format.

Questions? Contact the Resource Sharing office at 541-346-3055 or ill@uoregon.edu.

Finding the full text of an article using Google Scholar Library Links

When you search Google Scholar on your personal computer, you can configure your settings so that UO Libraries resource links appear in your results. Then you can click the UO FindText to access a library item.

(TIP: If you're at a temporary computer and don't want to activate these settings, you can access Google Scholar via our Databases page (Library Home Page > Databases A-Z > G > Google Scholar). 

To configure your Google Scholar Library Links, click on Settings. in the upper right of the search page.

Screen shot of Google Scholars with Settings in menu indicated

Then select Library Links and search for "University of Oregon." Check the box in the search select and click "Save."

Screen shot showing Library Links in Google Scholars Settings with University of Oregon libraries indicated

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift