Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Law - Indian & Tribal Legal Research

Selected law resources for federal and tribal Indian research

Secondary sources -- federal and tribal

  • Legal Encyclopedias
    • American Jurisprudence: LAW LIB KF154.A55 ; Westlaw (AMJUR)>Table of Contents>“Indians; Native Americans”
    • Corpus Juris Secundum: WestLaw (CJS)>Table of Contents> Indians
    • American Indian Tribal Governments, LAW LIB KF E98.T77 O27 1989
    • Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition: LAW LIB KF8204 .E53 1998 
    • Encyclopedia of United State Indian Policy and Law: LAW LIB KF8202.E525 2009
  • Treatises, Handbooks and Directories
    • Cohen’s Handbook of Federal Indian Law: LAW RSRV KF8205 .C6 2012 (earlier editions in library stacks); Lexis (COHEN)
    • Cases and Materials on Federal Indian Law:  LAW LIB KF8204.5.G47 1986  
    • American Indian law – native nations and the federal system – cases and materials: LAW LIB KF8204 .C55 2003  
    • The Rights of Indians and Tribes: LAW LIB KF8210.C5 P48 2012  
    • American Indian Law in a Nutshell: LAW RSRV KF8205.Z9 C36 2015 (earlier editions in library stacks)
    • Making of Modern Law: http://library.uoregon.edu/law/databases.html (search for “Indian” in subject field)
    • Native Land Law: Westlaw (NATIVELL) provides general principles of law relating to Native lands and natural resources
    • American Indian Tribal Governments: LAW LIB E98.T77 O27 1989 
    • Introduction to Tribal Legal Studies (textbook): LAW LIB KF8205 .R53 2010 
    • Tribal Criminal Law and Procedure (textbook): LAW LIB KF8210.C7 G37 2004
    • United States Tribal Courts Directory, LAW REF KF8224.C6 S39 2011
  • Databases and periodicals
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift