Starting research often means finding an overview of a topic, checking facts and data, checking dates of significant events, or looking up definitions of specialized terms. The dictionaries and encyclopedias listed here can give background information, including the scope of the topic area, noteworthy people, and statistics to help jumpstart your research.
Brill's New Pauly by
If you have already purchased volumes of Brill's New Pauly, please click here to register your purchase and ensure that you will receive the latest information about publication schedules and pricing for all future volumes.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization by
The Cambridge Guide to Classical Civilization provides an authoritative survey of the classical world, combining the traditional strengths of classical subjects with new approaches examining the social and cultural features of the ancient Greek and Roman world. Ranging in time from post-Bronze Age Greece to the later Roman Empire, it looks not only at ancient Greece and Rome, but discusses those cultures with which Greeks and Romans exchanged information and culture (e.g. Phoenicians, Celts and Jews) and those remote peoples with whom they were in contact (e.g. Persia, China and India). It paints a vivid new picture of ancient life, exploring material realities such as dress and technology. It emphasises the transmission of classical learning and explores our debts to Greece and Rome. Highly-illustrated, with hundreds of entries by leading scholars, this Guide is a superb reference work and definitive companion for anyone with an interest in the ancient world.
Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion by 
Late Antiquity by
The first book of its kind, this richly informative and comprehensive guide to the world of late antiquity offers the latest scholarship to the researcher along with great reading pleasure to the browser. In eleven comprehensive essays and in over 500 encyclopedic entries, an international cast of experts provides essential information and fresh perspectives on the history and culture of an era marked by the rise of two world religions, unprecedented political upheavals that remade the map of the known world, and the creation of art of enduring glory. By extending the commonly accepted chronological and territorial boundaries of the period--to encompass Roman, Byzantine, Sassanian, and early Islamic cultures, from the middle of the third century to the end of the eighth--this guide makes new connections and permits revealing comparisons. Consult the article on "Angels" and discover their meaning in Islamic as well as classical and Judeo-Christian traditions. Refer to "Children," "Concubinage," and "Divorce" for a fascinating interweaving of information on the family. Read the essay on "Barbarians and Ethnicity" and see how a topic as current as the construction of identity played out in earlier times, from the Greeks and Romans to the Turks, Huns, and Saxons. Turn to "Empire Building" to learn how the empire of Constantine was supported by architecture and ceremony. Or follow your own path through the broad range of entries on politics, manufacturing and commerce, the arts, philosophy, religion, geography, ethnicity, and domestic life. Each entry introduces readers to another facet of the postclassical world: historic figures and places, institutions, burial customs, food, money, public life, and amusements. A splendid selection of illustrations enhances the portrait. The intriguing era of late antiquity emerges completely and clearly, viewed in a new light, in a guide that will be relished by scholars and general readers alike.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by
The third edition of The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature is the complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage. It not only presents the reader with all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth andliterature, but it also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds. With an extensive web of cross-references and a useful chronological table and location maps (all of which have been brought fully up to date), this volume traces thedevelopment of literary forms and the classical allusions which have become embedded in our Western culture.Extensively revised and updated since the second edition was published in 1989, the Companion acknowledges changes in the focus of scholarship over the last twenty years, through the incorporation of a far larger number of thematic entries such as medicine, friendship, science, freedom (concept of),and sexuality. These topical entries provide an excellent starting point to the exploration of their subjects in classical literature; after all, for many aspects of classical society the literature we have inherited is the primary (and sometimes the only) source material. Additions and changes havebeen made taking into account the advice of teachers and lecturers in Classics, ensuring that current educational needs are catered for.In addition to newly covered topics, the Companion still plays to its traditional strengths, with extensive biographies of classical literary figures from Aeschylus to Zeno; entries on a multitude of literary styles from biography and rhetoric to lyric poetry and epic, encompassing everything inbetween; and character entries and plot summaries for the major figures and myths in the classical canon. It is the ideal guide for students in Classics, and for all who are passionate about the vast and varied literary tradition bequeathed to us from the classical world.
The Oxford Dictionary of Late Antiquity by
The Oxford Dictionary of Late Antiquity is the first comprehensive reference book covering every aspect of history, culture, religion, and life in Europe, the Mediterranean, and the Near East (including the Persian Empire and Central Asia) between the mid-3rd and the mid-8th centuries AD, theera now generally known as Late Antiquity. This period saw the re-establishment of the Roman Empire, its conversion to Christianity and its replacement in the West by Germanic kingdoms, the continuing Roman Empire in the Eastern Mediterranean, the Persian Sassanian Empire, and the rise of Islam.Consisting of more than one million words in more than 5,000 A-Z entries, and written by more than 400 contributors, it is the long-awaited middle volume of a series, bridging a significant period of history between those covered by the acclaimed Oxford Classical Dictionary and The Oxford Dictionaryof the Middle Ages.The scope of the Dictionary is broad and multi-disciplinary; across the wide geographical span covered (from Western Europe and the Mediterranean as far as the Near East and Central Asia), it provides succinct and pertinent information on political history, law, and administration; militaryhistory; religion and philosophy; education; social and economic history; material culture; art and architecture; science; literature; and many other areas.Drawing on the latest scholarship, and with a formidable international team of advisers and contributors, The Oxford Dictionary of Late Antiquity aims to establish itself as the essential reference companion to a period that is attracting increasing attention from scholars and studentsworldwide.
Who's Who in the Classical World by
Who's Who in the Classical World offers biographical entries on nearly 500 individuals of central importance from the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome, including writers, thinkers, artists, scientists, statesmen, kings, queens, and other historical figures; mythological figures areexcluded. Entries offer far more than just biographical information: many are short essays in themselves covering major historical and cultural themes in antiquity centred round individuals as varied as Herodotus, Socrates, Plato, Alexander the Great, and Augustus. Drawing on the latest edition ofthe Oxford Classical Dictionary, this book offers authoritative and accessible scholarship from over 190 world-experts on their subjects, providing an invaluable guide for students and general readers alike.
Medieval Islamic Civilization by 
The New Cambridge Medieval History, C. 500-C. 700 by
The first volume of The New Cambridge Medieval History covers the transitional period between the later Roman world and the early middle ages, c.500 to c.700. This was an era of developing consciousness and profound change in Europe, Byzantium and the Arab world, an era in which the foundations of medieval society were laid and to which many of our modern myths of national and religious identity can be traced. This book offers a comprehensive regional survey of the sixth and seventh centuries, from Ireland in the west to the rise of Islam in the Middle East, and from Scandinavia in the north to the Mediterranean south. It explores the key themes pinning together the history of this period, from kingship, trade and the church, to art, architecture and education. It represents both an invaluable conspectus of current scholarship and an expert introduction to the period.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages (4 Volume Set) by
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is a major new reference resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from 500 to 1500. Since neighbouring areas of Asia and North Africa impinged on and helped shape the civilization of the West, relevant aspects ofthe Byzantine Empire, the Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples such as the Avars and the Mongols are included. It is designed both for medievalists, who need a detailed and reliable reference tool for their own research and teaching, and for non-specialists, who need an accessible guide to thestudy of the Middle Ages. All entries are written with both audiences in mind. Over 800 scholars, guided by an international advisory board of five and an international editorial board of 26, have written the over 5,000 entries, and these entries have been lavishly supplemented by more than 500illustrations and 50 maps. Each entry contains a brief bibliography.Distinguishing this research resource are its balanced coverage of both the whole geographical extent of the European Middle Ages and sixteen major topics centrally important to the study of the period. Ten members of the editorial board have ensured ample coverage of geographical regions: France,Germany and Austria, Spain and Portugal, Italy, Sicily, and Latin Greece, the Low Countries, England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales, Scandinavia and Iceland, and Central and Eastern Europe. In addition sixteen members of the board have ensured similar coverage of major international topics: art andarchitecture, archaeology, science, medicine, technology, law, ecclesiastical history, intellectual history, philosophy, social and economic history, Romance, Germanic, and Slavic languages and literatures, Islam, Judaica, medieval Latin, and music and liturgy. There are also separate andsubstantial entries on women and children in each of the geographical areas represented and in Jewish and Islamic society.
A Dictionary of Contemporary World History by
This authoritative dictionary provides in-depth coverage of major recent historical events, from 1900 to the present day. It includes country entries for every country in the world, with maps and historical summaries. Additionally, the dictionary includes biographical entries on majorhistorical and cultural figures, political and military leaders, and the thinkers who influenced events. Subject entries cover international organizations, treaties, religious and political movements, as well as key incidents, places, and battles.The new edition has been fully revised and updated, and boasts a wealth of new material including entry-level web links updated via a companion website to ensure that they remain contemporary, extended coverage of historical context in the country entries, and new and expanded biographical entrieson figures such as Angela Merkel and President 'Lula' of Brazil.With over 2,600 entries, all written by an authority in the field, this is a comprehensive reference work that will prove invaluable to a range of readers from students of history, politics, and international relations, to anyone with an interest in the modern world.
Dictionary of Twentieth-Century History, 1914-1990 by
About the Editor: Peter Teed has written two textbooks on twentieth century history, assisted with The Oxford Illustrated Encyclopedia Volume IV, and was History Consultant for The Oxford Children's Encyclopedia.
The Penguin Dictionary of Twentieth Century History, 1900-1982 by
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
