Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

This is a guide to finding encyclopedias and dictionaries in the UO Libraries.

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

UO logo with "LibrarySearch" catalog name

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Introduction: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias image

Use Encyclopedias and Dictionaries to:

  • Get an overview of your topic or issue
  • Learn the definitions of terms and concepts
  • Identify keywords to use in searching for additional information
  • Get a list of additional recommended sources on your topic
Search Tips
  • To find encyclopedias and dictionaries, both print and online, use LibrarySearch
  • Search for your broad topic and add the term encyclopedias. For example:
    • global warming encyclopedias
    • vietnam war encyclopedias
    • shakespeare encyclopedias
  • For language dictionaries, search for the language and add the term dictionaries. For example:
    • navajo language dictionaries
    • american sign language dictionaries
    • ladino language dictionaries english (for a Ladino to English dictionary)
  • See our research guides for background sources in the subject area. 
  • Ask a librarian!
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift