Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

SCUA Policies and Procedures during COVID-19

Special Collections and University Archives

UO Faculty and Students

In support of remote teaching and learning, we've added free digitization services. We are offering to scan 5 folders for instruction purposes, and/or research purposes.  We are offering 150 pages from a book, if the the title is not available in Hathi Trust.

The Library’s Digital Imaging Lab will be able to provide free scans (5 folders, or 150 pages) of materials for UO-affiliated researchers.

Please send inquiries to spcarref@uoregon.edu and we will assess your digitization needs.

Please note that SCUA reserves the right to refuse to fill any copy request because of potential damage to a fragile original, copyright restrictions, or other concerns. We will make every effort to quickly inform customers if we cannot fill an order.

Non-UO Affiliated Researchers

We are offering free digitization of up to 5 folders of textual materials from an archival or manuscript collection, or 150 pages of a book to all researchers. Please note that SCUA reserves the right to refuse to fill any copy request because of potential damage to a fragile original, copyright restrictions, or other concerns. We will make every effort to quickly inform customers if we cannot fill an order.

Note, we are unable to digitize certain formats of materials (e.g. photographs, slides, negatives, rare books, or oversize materials). Requests for these items will be completed by the library's Digital Imaging Lab, and will incur fees as described on this website: https://library.uoregon.edu/special-collections/reproductions-permissions. Contact Julia Simic (jsimic@uoregon.edu) regarding questions about reproduction policies, rates, and procedures.

 

Digtization of Audiovisual Materials

Digitization requests for audiovisual materials will be completed on a quarterly basis or sooner as possible, with payment required in advance and digital files provided within approximately three months. Contact our Archivist for Digital Collections, Nathan Georgitis (nathang@uoregon.edu) .

Digital Resources

If we cannot provide digital surrogates of our own collections, it may be possible to find a similar substitute elsewhere. Archives have been digitizing collections for over a decade and our staff are very familiar with what’s available at sites that maintain large quantities of digitized archival content like the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA), the California Digital Library’s Calisphere, etc.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift