The ART21 website provides access to films, publications, digital resources, and educational programs produced by ART21, a nonprofit contemporary art organization dedicated to introducing broad public audiences to today’s visual artists—stimulating critical reflection as well as conversation.
Artsy features the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place. Their website claims that their growing database of 280,000 images of art, architecture, and design by 40,000 artists spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art.
Launched in 2010, Colossal is a blog that explores art and other aspects of visual culture. Each week you’ll find 15-25 posts on photography, design, animation, painting, installation art, architecture, drawing, and street art. Colossal is also a great place to learn about the intersection of art and science as well as the beauty of the natural world.
The Rhizome website is a dynamic, interactive platform, rich in historical resources and updated continually with new art and commentary by a vast community. The Rhizome ArtBase is an online archive of digital art containing over 2,500 art works.
Scholarly & Popular Sources
It can be hard to determine if an article is scholarly or popular. Here are some clues that can help!
It is written by an expert in the field (Ph.D., etc.).
The institution (university or museum) where the author works is listed.
The article includes a bibliography.
The article is in a journal (usually scholarly) rather than a magazine (usually popular).
The journal might be described as "peer-reviewed" or "refereed."
Often scholarly articles have an abstract at the beginning that explains what the article is about.
The article is long - popular articles tend to be 1-5 pages; scholarly articles are often over 10 pages.
There are a lot of glossy images in color.
There are advertisements.
There is no bibliography or other way to check the author's work, or the bibliography is very short.