Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Finding Open, Free, & Affordable Textbooks & Other Materials

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Search the DOAJ

Google Scholar Search Widget

Google Scholar Search

BrowZine Search

Search e-journals

Access to Trial Databases

Please note

In response to the COVID-19 emergency, a huge variety of materials have been made temporarily available by vendors during Spring 2020. Please contact a Subject Librarian if you would like assistance locating a resource.


Trial Databases

Trial databases offer free access for a given period to journal articles and other resources covering many disciplines and special interests—everything from New World cinema to Russian mass media to sports medicine. UO students, faculty, and staff can explore the databases during the trial period and provide feedback on their usefulness. To access these trial databases from off-campus, you must log into the UO VPN Client software. 

Install the VPN to use Trial Databases

About finding eJournals & Database Content

eJournals & Databases decorative elementLearn about finding open and freely available journal articles on this page, both from open journals and databases and through the UO Libraries' subscriptions.

 

To locate open research on the web, check out the Unpaywall extension for the Chrome browser at the link below:

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Search UO Scholars' Bank (Institutional Repository)

Scholars' Bank is our Institutional Repository that holds pre- and post-prints of work by UO scholars, from faculty author's accepted manuscripts to the work of undergraduate research award winners.

Click the link to access the search page.

Open Access Content

Open Access LogoWhen you are affiliated with a higher education institution, you have information privilege. That is, you have access to Library-subscribed scholarly content that is not freely available on the open web. Little known fact: this access usually ends when you graduate.

Led by academic libraries and information activists, the Open Access (OA) movement provides an alternative: a bridge to to open scholarship, no matter your institutional ties. OA expands the content that is available across access barriers, and is gaining ground in the scholarly community.

OA resources will be available to you after you leave University of Oregon. For more information on open access at UO see the Digital Scholarship Center website.

As you engage in your research, explore the following OA repositories:

BASE Logo

BASE is a vast cross-disciplinary international metasearch for OA content.

DOAJ

The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals and aims to cover all subjects and all languages.

OpenDOAR Logo

OpenDoar is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. From University of Nottingham, UK.

ROAR Logo

ROAR provides up-to-date visual access to a huge database of open access repositories.

Finding the full text of an article using Google Scholar Library Links

When you search Google Scholar on your personal computer, you can configure your settings so that UO Libraries resource links appear in your results. Then you can click the UO FindText to access a library item.

(TIP: If you're at a temporary computer and don't want to activate these settings, you can access Google Scholar via our Databases page (Library Home Page > Databases A-Z > G > Google Scholar). 

To configure your Google Scholar Library Links, click on Settings. in the upper right of the search page.

Screen shot of Google Scholars with Settings in menu indicated

Then select Library Links and search for "University of Oregon." Check the box in the search select and click "Save."

Screen shot showing Library Links in Google Scholars Settings with University of Oregon libraries indicated

What is Open Access?

Open Access or OA 

Open Access is an umbrella term for a variety of publishing models that allow published works (typically scholarly journal articles and conference proceedings) to be made freely available online (libre and gratis). Often the open lock symbol Orange Open Lock Symbol for Open Access indicates that a work is published under an OA model.

Green, Gold, and Platinum

Green OA is a model that allows an author to deposit a pre- or post-print in an institutional repository (IR) such as UO Scholars' Bank. IR content is indexed by search engines like Google Scholar and discoverable to a worldwide audience.

Gold OA is a model from publisher's that requires the author(s) pay the cost of publishing and allows the Version of Record to be distributed online in a free (Gratis) manner through journal websites, library subscription databases, or online search engines. 

Platinum OA is a model like Gold OA where the Version of Record can be distributed online in a free/Gratis manner, but the cost of publishing is passed along to a third party, like a sponsoring university or corporation.

Additional Terms

Pre-print (a submitted Manuscript that is under review): This is the version of the article you submitted to the journal i.e. prior to peer review.

Post-print (aka the author's Accepted Manuscript): This is the version of the article accepted for publication i.e. after peer review. This is your copy, not the final publisher version.

Version of Record: The final, published version of your article, often in PDF format with the journal's style and branding.

Libre vs. Gratis - Gratis OA is a term that means for free (removal of price barriers), while Libre OA means free (removal of price barriers) and free of most copyright restrictions (removal of permissions barriers). 

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift