Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Finding Open, Free, & Affordable Textbooks & Other Materials

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Access to Trial Databases

Please note

In response to the COVID-19 emergency, a huge variety of materials have been made temporarily available by vendors during Spring 2020. Please contact a Subject Librarian if you would like assistance locating a resource.


Trial Databases

Trial databases offer free access for a given period to journal articles and other resources covering many disciplines and special interests—everything from New World cinema to Russian mass media to sports medicine. UO students, faculty, and staff can explore the databases during the trial period and provide feedback on their usefulness. To access these trial databases from off-campus, you must log into the UO VPN Client software. 

Install the VPN to use Trial Databases

About finding eBooks through UO Libraries

eBooks decorative elementThis page describes where to locate eBooks using UO Libraries' subscription databases. The subpages explain how to download and read these materials on devices.

You can search for all UO Libraries' eBooks through LibrarySearch (search box below) or search individual databases for specific collections.

Learn about finding eBooks through ProQuest Ebook Central and eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) at the Downloading eBooks page.

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Accessing eBooks Tutorial (Andrew Wang via Panopto)

Finding eBooks at UO Libraries

Using Filters in LibrarySearch

A screenshot of Library search with "UO eResources" selected from the Availability menu and "Book Chapters" and "eBooks" selected from the Resource Type menu.

Use LibrarySearch to find millions of items available at UO, including eBooks! Narrow your search by using filters. These are also sometimes called refinersnarrowers, or limiters

 

Finding eBooks

To locate eBooks, check the corresponding box (under the Resource Type filter). You may also want to include Book Chapters.

LibrarySearch also includes catalogs of other Summit (OR, WA, and ID) academic libraries. Using the UO eResources filter (under Availability) will eliminate results that includes eBook records the UO doesn’t have current access to.

Be sure to click Apply to limit your results to your selected filters.

 

Finding eBooks beyond UO

There are free and open eBooks online through sites like HathiTrust and Project Gutenberg. Check out the eTextbooks and OER page for more.

 

Please note

Summit and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) materials may not be available in Spring 2020.

eBook Databases at UO Libraries

eBook Databases at UO Libraries

The eBook titles in these databases are also searchable in LibrarySearch, but you may prefer to use one of these database interfaces instead. Here are a few of our favorites:

Databases with Articles and eBooks

Some databases contain a mix of books and articles. Here are our top recommendations:

Databases with Reference eBooks

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift