Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

WR 123: Written Reasoning in the Context of Research

Resources for all sections of Writing 123 College Composition III courses at the University of Oregon

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Searching Databases (Video Tutorial)

Watch this video from Yavapai College Library to learn how to search library databases.

Recommended Databases for Finding Articles - WR 123

Library databases (sometimes called indexes) are like search engines but locate scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other academic sources. Some databases contain unique materials such as dissertations, primary sources, images, music, videos, and government documents. Here are two places to find one that fits your needs: 

Many library databases provide the full text of articles. Look for a full-text link next to your article, or use the   icon in the database to connect to the complete article.
Multi-disciplinary databases: 

Subject or Discipline-Specific Databases: 

Not sure where to start? Try using one of these...

Below are databases that have a mix of background and foreground research. These resources provide overviews of current topics with multiple perspectives about controversial and important issues. They can help jumpstart your research!
Searching for a specific article?
  • CitationLinker -- allows you to enter your citation and find out if the library has it in full text
  • LibrarySearch -- search for the title of your journal, magazine, or newspaper in the UO Libraries catalog. LibrarySearch will tell you how to locate the article either in print, online, or through another library. 

Is your Journal "Peer Reviewed" or "Refereed"?

How can I be sure my journal article is scholarly?

Many databases offer the option to search for "peer-reviewed" journal articles - those are academic articles reviewed by the authors' peers for accuracy during the editing and publishing process.

If you are using a database that does not have this filter option, or if you find an article citation somewhere else, you can check if the article was published in a "peer-reviewed" journal or magazine by using Ulrichsweb.

  1. Search for your journal or magazine by title
  2. Look for a little black and white striped referee jersey icon next to its name Referee jersey icon from Ulrichsweb serials directory 
  3. The Content Type will say "Academic/Scholarly"

Ulrichsweb screen shot of journal entry

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO).

You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.

A screen shot of a search in Academic Search Premier for "Pacific Northwest" AND conservative*

This screen shot shows various options for getting the full text of this article through the UO Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Premier. If your article doesn't have a PDF or HTML full text, click the FindText button FindText button to get to this screen: 

Screenshot of the Get It link when full text is available in a database

When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you (up to the limit of $30 for students/staff and $60 for faculty per document. See About Borrowing for more). Click the Find Text button below the search result you want, and then look for the Check availability link.

Screenshot of Check Availability link in database with options for Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery.

Choose Interlibrary Loan for physical items (books, DVDs) to get them in 1-3 weeks from another library outside of Summit or for electronic items (PDFs of journal or magazine articles) to get them in 24-48 hours at no cost to you. Document Delivery is for requesting an electronic copy of an article or book chapter that the University of Oregon Libraries has in physical format.

Questions? Contact the Resource Sharing office at 541-346-3055 or ill@uoregon.edu.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift