Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Sustainable City Year Program-Lane Transportation District

About Lane Transit District

The Lane Transit District (LTD) is a “special-purpose district" created by the State of Oregon. LTD serves Lane County including the Eugene and Springfield metropolitan areas as well as other nearby cities in Lane County including Creswell, Coburg, Cottage Grove, Junction City, Lowell, and Veneta.  LTD began offering services in 1970, by 1987 LTD served it 50 millionth rider. According to LTD, the initial fleet included eighteen buses and two vans. In the forty-nine years of operation since, LTD has seen sustained service growth. LTD leadership have consistently responded to the growing understanding of the "relationship between automobile traffic and quality of life"[1] and have used that enhanced understanding to augment and improve services. Initially starting services in urban areas in 1972, LTD obtained a grant to expand services to non-urban areas. From there on there have been many notable milestones:

  • 1981 LTD begins Park & Ride
  • 1982 LTD and Lane Community College collaborate on the student term pass
  • 1988 1st group pass launched with the University of Oregon
  • 2003 Group Pass Program launched for Lane Community College
  • 2007 10 million annual rides & launch of EmX service
  • 2010 250+ million rides (annually)

A Board of Directors, comprised of seven members, oversees the LTD through "policy direction and collaborates with local elected officials on regional transportation planning." [2] The board hosts public meetings monthly and publishes an events calendar available here:[3]. The ordinances that oversee the LTD operations can be found here [][4]. These ordinances address issues such as territorial boundaries, the current faces, district property, and laws relating to the Board of Directors and meetings, among other matters.

1.History > Lane Transit District.


Key Documents & Resources