Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

HIST 248: Latinos in the Americas (Weise)

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

UO logo with "LibrarySearch" catalog name

A-Z Database List

Databases A-Z logo from website

If you know which database you want, use the dropdown menu above to choose it. If you want to browse the databases by subject, click on the link on the left and use the filters to explore our subscription databases! 

Look at other Subject guides to see which databases the Subject Librarians recommend for that discipline/major.

Searching Databases (Video Tutorial)

Watch this video from Yavapai College Library to learn how to search library databases.

Recommended Databases for the Course

Library databases (sometimes called indexes) are like search engines but search scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.

Many library databases provide the full text of articles. Look for a full-text link next to your article, or use the   icon in the database to connect to the complete article.

General Multidisciplinary Database - Great Places to Start!

Linguistics Databases

Language & Literature Databases

Education

History & Culture

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

Get research articles at no cost to you!

Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO). Note: The process in ProQuest and other databases is the same.

You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.

A screen shot of a search in Academic Search Premier for "Pacific Northwest" AND conserv* AND (fish OR salmon) with an arrow pointing to the full text options in pdf or html

 

This screen shot shows various options for getting the full text of this article through the UO Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Premier.

No PDF link?

If your article doesn't have a PDF or HTML full text, click the FindText button FindText button to check LibrarySearch for other copies. Download the article directly from LibrarySearch or from the other options listed under View It.

Screenshot of the Get It link when full text is available in a database or LibrarySearch

Still no full text pdf? Ask us to Scan & Deliver it to you!

When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you (up to certain limits. See About Borrowing for more).

Click the Find Text button below the search result you want, and then look for the Check availability link.

Screenshot of Check Availability link in database with option for Scan & Deliver.

Scan & Deliver is for requesting an electronic copy of an article or book section that the University of Oregon Libraries owns in physical format. In the screen capture above, this journal is at our Math Library.

Choose Interlibrary Loan to request physical items (books, DVDs) that we don't own within 1-3 weeks or electronic items (PDFs of journal or magazine articles) in 24-48 hours at no cost to you.


Questions?

Contact the Resource Sharing office at 541-346-3055 or ill@uoregon.edu.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift