These sources can help you get started with learning background information about the country or dance style that you are researching. Besides historical and cultural overviews, they also include bibliographies for further reading, which you can use to find books and articles related to your topic.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by 
International Encyclopedia of Dance (online) by 
Hip-Hop Studies: An International Bibliography and Resource Guide by
This remarkable new study provides the first comprehensive overview of the burgeoning field of Hip-Hop Studies and its enormous literature. Comprised of more than 7000 entries it encompasses both the early journalistic and popular writing on the subject as well as the wealth of scholarship that has emerged since the mid-1990s. The book¿s main focus is on three of hip-hop¿s most important facets¿MCing, Djing and dance¿along with a variety of related dance music styles, e.g., house, techno, and reggaeton. Highlights include the work¿s in-depth regional coverage which documents hip-hop¿s history and evolution, both at home and abroad, as well as its enormous biographical section which covers almost 1900 individual MCs, DJs, dancers, record producers, and others.
Entries in Hip-Hop Studies span from the first reports on the then nascent idiom in 1978 to the most recent digital scholarship of 2014 in fields ranging from history, anthropology, and sociology to Black and ethnic studies, gender studies, religious studies, law and economics.
The book concludes with an extensive reference section that offers a list of Sources Consulted, a guide to relevant Libraries and Archives, two appendices, and separate Author and Subject Indexes. An essential resource for all academic and large public libraries.
An Annotated Bibliography of Oceanic Music and Dance by
Revised and enlarged 2nd edition
Research in Dance IV: 1900-1990 by Union Catalog on Philippine Culture: Dance. by Indian Music and Dance: A Select Bibliography by
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485