Articles (Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed) - DAN 251: Looking At Dance - Ebert - Research Guides at University of Oregon Libraries

Journals for Dance Scholarship

Dance
Call Number: Knight Library GV1580 .D2317
Publication Date: 1989-
Dance, Movement & Spiritualities
Call Number: online
Publication Date: Online access from 2015-2018
Dance Research (online)
Call Number: online + print Knight Library GV1580 .D29
Publication Date: 1983-
Online access covers from 1983 to 4 years ago. Print volumes cover v.1(1983)-v.25(2007).
Journal of Dance & Somatic Practices "This journal focuses on the relationship between dance and somatic practices, and the influence of this body of practice on the wider performing arts. The journal will be aimed at scholars and artists, providing a space for practitioners and theorists to debate the work, to consider the impact and influence of the work on performance, the interventions that somatic practices can have on other disciplines and the implications for research and teaching."--Publisher's web site.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: Online access from 2013-present
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance (Online)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 1981-
UCLA Journal of Dance Ethnology
Call Number: Knight Library GV1580 .A83a
Publication Date: 1984-
UO has v.8(1984)-v.19(1995)

Databases for finding dance scholarship

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of leading peer reviewed/scholarly journals covering the arts and sciences. Database is part of the Web of Science and provides information about the number of times an article has been cited.
Dance catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of the New York Public Library's Dance Research Collection, including archival and digital collections related to dance.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present) This link opens in a new window
Includes articles, books, dissertations, and other scholarship related to dance in relation to music; particularly useful for ballet scholarship and folk/traditional dance through an ethnomusiological lens.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Includes dance content related to physical training, dance medicine, dance in physical education, and kinesiology.

Databases for finding dance dissertations

ProQuest dissertations & theses A & I. This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to dissertations in all areas from 1861 to the present. Access is full text access to UO materials only. The availability of UO dissertations and theses are also subject to the author's permission.
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Oregon This link opens in a new window
Database of dissertations completed at the University of Oregon. Dissertations completed after 1996 are available in full text to current UO faculty, staff and students and on-campus users.
Scholars' Bank. Graduate Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Includes full text pdfs of Dance masters' theses from UO graduates.

About Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Infographic

Want materials (e.g., books, articles) that the library doesn't have? Use Interlibrary Loan!

Thanks to IUPUI University Library for allowing reuse of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.
Text description of "Use Interlibrary Loan" for web accessibility

Before submitting an InterLibrary Loan request, an account must be made. This can be found on the UO Libraries website by clicking the "InterLibrary Loan" link and following the login prompts, or first time users can click here.

Once an account is made, books may be searched for and requested through LibrarySearch and WorldCat.

Please allow about 2 weeks for delivery of books and physical materials. An e-mail will be sent when print materials are ready for pick-up.

Most journal articles arrive in 24-48 hours and will be sent electronically.

More Help

Requesting Materials through Interlibrary Loan (UO video tutorial)

Google Scholar

Looking for a specific article by title? Want to see who cited the articles you're using to find more, related articles? Want to find a formatted citation for a book or an article for your bibliography? Google Scholar is there for you! (Works best on-campus)