Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​University Archives Collections

This guide details the University Archives collections at the University of Oregon Libraries.

Documenting UO History Project

The Documenting UO History Project aims to research, document, and disseminate major portions of the university's hidden history, especially underrepresented groups and individuals, by engaging students and faculty in the documentation process, developing a variety of resources for dissemination, and conducting outreach with alumni and students for donations of records, documents, and ephemera to add to the collection. If you're interested in participating or have items to donate, find out more information here.

Bobby Robinson | One of the first African American atheltes at the University of Oregon | 1926

Teaching with Primary Source Materials

Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.

Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.

For specific questions, contact our Instruction Program Coordinator Jennifer O'Neal, University Historian and Archivist.

Related Guides

About University Archives

The University Archives is the official repository of the University of Oregon's permanent historical records dating from 1872 to present. The collection was created to collect, describe, preserve, and provide access to permanent records created or received in connection with the transaction of university affairs, as well as regarding documenting student life on campus. The archives includes administrative records, university publications, theses and dissertations, photographic prints and negatives, audio tapes, film, and memorabilia reflecting history and events connected to the history of the University.

Leadership and Legacy - Athletics and the University of Oregon

The history of sports at the University of Oregon spans more than a century of events influenced by leading coaches and defined by student-athletes. In 1877, Oregon competed in its first intercollegiate competition-a baseball game against Monmouth College.

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

Corrigan Solari University Historian & Archivist

Preferred Citation Format for SCUA Materials

[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.