Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Military Conflicts in Special Collections

This guide offers brief descriptions of relevant collections related to conflicts. Links are provided whenever online inventories exist.

Related Guides

Teaching with Primary Source Materials

Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.

Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.

For specific questions, contact our Instruction Program Coordinator Jennifer O'Neal, University Historian and Archivist.

World War II Aleutian Islands materials in SCUA Collections

406th Bombardment Squadron members.
History of the 406th Bombardment Squadron (M), June 1942-October 1943.
1 folder.
A history of the squadron, a U.S. Army Air Corps unit stationed in Alaska from June 1942 until October 1943. Includes mainly photocopies of documents: photographs, flight records, articles, and diaries.
SFM 234

Fuller, Frank.
Where the Wild Winds Blow: The Aleutian Islands, Aug. 1942 to 1944.
1 folder (appr. 55 p.)
Fuller was a Corporal in the 11th U.S. Air Force Weather Squadron stationed in the Aleutian Islands during World War II, 1942-1944. This is a narrative of Fuller's experiences in the Aleutians, and includes photographs and photocopies of photographs and maps.
SFM 233

Galloway, Ray C.
A Year in the Aleutian Islands, July 1942-1943.
1 folder (appr. 16 p.)
Galloway was a T/Sgt. with the U.S. Air Force, 21st Heavy Bombardment Group. He served in the Aleutian Islands during World War II. This is a reminiscence of his experiences in the Aleutians.
SFM 231

Pinney, Charles A.
Article and 11th Air Force Group Reunion Information, 1975-1982.
1 folder (4 items)
Pinney, a retired Colonel, served with the 77th Bomb Squadron in the Aleutians during World War II. This contains a copy of Pinney's article "A Military Bush Pilot on the Forgotten Front," published in Aerospace Historian (Vol. 22, No. 1, Spring 1975), and information on the second 11th Air Force Reunion in August 1980.
SFM 230

Reineke, Lawrence, 1907-
Papers, 1939-1984.
13 boxes, 10 vol.; 9 lin. ft.
Reineke was a combat intelligence in the Aleutian Islands during World War II. Included is correspondence; subject files; a manuscript on Iwo Jima; official and unofficial military documents; printed materials; and ephemera relating to Reineke's war experiences.
Coll. 151

Rouse, Arthur, Jr., 1919-
Diary and related materials, 1942-1943.
1 folder (7 items)
Rouse was a Second Lieutenant in the 21st Bombardment Squadron, stationed in the Aleutians during World War II. The diary relates Rouse's experiences in the Aleutians. Also included are photographs and a newspaper clipping.
SFM 232

Sabich, Vladimir P.
Diary and transcript of diary, 1943-1944.
1 folder.
Sabich was a member of the 77th Army. The diary (Sept. 10, 1943-Feb. 20, 1944) was kept by Sabich while was interned in Siberia during World War II. It tells about his mission in the Aleutian Islands, and describes his time in Siberia and escape to Teheran. The transcript was done by Lawrence Reineke.
SFM 235

Vance, Roger P., d. 1943.
Letters and related materials, 1942-1990.
1 folder.
Vance was a Staff Sergeant with the 21st Bombardment Squadron, stationed in the Aleutians during World War II. He was killed in action on January 18, 1943. Included are photocopies of three letters written by Vance to his wife just prior to his death, and materials relating to the squadron.
SFM 229

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

Preferred Citation Format for SCUA Materials

[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Mission | Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.

Historical Collection Strengths

  • Oregon history, politics, culture
  • Authors and illustrators of children’s books
  • The conservative and libertarian movement in the last half of the twentieth century
  • Popular literature, with an emphasis on Western fiction
  • Missionaries to foreign countries, especially in the Far East
  • Labor History
  • Journalism and Communications
  • Photographs of the Northwest, including the Major Lee Moorhouse and Angelus Studio collections
  • Environmental history
  • Northwest literature, including fiction by Ken Kesey, Damon Knight, Kate Wilhelm, Ursula K. Le Guin, Molly Gloss, and William Stafford
  • Doris Ulmann photograph archives of Appalachia
  • Utopian and intentional communities
  • Northwest architecture
  • Northwest economic history