by Miriam Rigby
Last Updated Sep 15, 2017
463 views this year
Teaching with Primary Source Materials
Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.
Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.
Martin Luther King, Jr., Memorial News Clips (1968)
African American primary sources in SCUA Collections
Special Collections and University Archives collects in the topical area Multicultural Collections in all formats by and about Native Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans, and African Americans.
African American Cultural History in Eugene Oral History Project Collection (currently closed)
Call number: Coll. 555
Size: .5 linear feet (1 container and digital audio files)
Collection comprises sound recordings and transcripts of oral history interviews by University of Oregon students and faculty of Eugene community members with knowledge of the African American community in Eugene's Alton Baker Park and Ferry Street Bridge area in the mid-1940s. Oral histories and related documents address the following topics: race relations, discrimination, and city planning and development, among other topics. The collection originated in the University of Oregon's Arts and Administration Program course titled African American Cultural History in Eugene (AAD410) and taught by Dr. John Fenn in fall 2008.
E. & H.T. Anthony (1859-1892) Stereo Photographs, 1860s
Call number: PH194_009
Size: 0.25 linear feet (1 container)
Edward Anthony began issuing stereos in 1859; his brother, Henry T. Anthony joined the firm in 1862. In addition to its massive stereo catalog, the company was the largest supplier of photographic materials in the U.S., providing cameras and studio props as well as papers and chemicals. The collection consists of seven images of New York City and New York State. One image shows the Brigade de "Shoe Black," a line of shoeshine men and boys in New York City, 1865.
Call number: Ax 491
Size: 8.75 linear feet (20 containers)
Benjamin Appel (1907-1977) was a writer whose "voice of the streets" reflected his New York City childhood and his military experience. The collection consists of correspondence, manuscripts, and research materials from his work, including the 1943 The Dark Stain, an exploration into the ugliness and cruelty between black and white Americans and how the morass of racial prejudice devours even those of good intentions.
Call number: CB B226
Size of collection: .25 linear feet (1 container)
Collection consists of the reminiscences of some of the first migrants from the United States to Oregon territory written as letters to Bannard in 1903. While the letters have much in common, each offers its own unique memories of life in Oregon. Newell described many hardships. When discussing the variety of migrants to Oregon, she also mentioned the presence of freed slaves (who entered before the migration of African Americans to the territory was outlawed). Miller (who migrated in 1851) commented on the changes he lived through, in particular, the transformation of the Oregon wilderness into fruit fields. Finally, Himes was acutely concerned with class in his letter to Bannard. He noted that the social equality shared by early residents quickly broke down and class difference emerged through access to consumer products and property.
N.L Berry New England vacation album, 1890s
Call number: PH203_001
Size: .1 linear ft. (1 volume)
Vacation album compiled by N.L. Berry shows people, houses and waterfronts in Enfield, CT; Cape Ann, Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, MA; "Negro Village of Cottage City," MA, 1890s.
Beyond Black and White Photographs, ca. 1980-2000
Call Number: PH334
Quantity: .5 linear feet (1 container) (34 photographs)
"Beyond Black & White" was an exhibit by Richard Frazier Crawford (dates unknown) that depicted African-American men in Oregon, 1980-2000. The collection consists of 34 color images. The men in the photographs are Markus Phillips; Wilson Laroi; Tony Morgan; Andrew Smith; Anthony Fuller; Ronnie Vails, Olympic cyclist in 1000 meters at the 1984 Olympics; Robert Branch Jr.; and Leonard Cooke, Eugene, Oregon Police Chief from July 1992 to March 1998.
Frazier A. Boutelle Photographs, c. 1865-1924
Collection number: PH119
Extent: 2 linear ft. (4 containers)
Frazier Augustus Boutelle (1840-1924) served in the US Army for 57 years, fighting in the Civil War, in Indian wars, and working as a recruiter in World War I. In 1889-1890 he was Superintendent of Yellowstone National Park. The collection is of interest for its military scenes of the Indian Wars from 1870s-1890s, images from the Philippines from 1898-1899, and the Yellowstone area 1889-1890. An entry on Boutelle is included in Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience, edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr (Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005).
Call number: PH236
Size: .1 linear feet (1 container)
Mrs. Blackwood lived in Jacksonville, Ore. The collection consists of five snapshots of Blackwood and friends or family, c. 1900-1928. One is a portrait of Andy Boise, African-American man, in suit with cane, c. 1880s.
Call number: UA 018
Size of collection: .5 linear feet, (1 container)
Laura J. Bock was an undergraduate at the university in the mid-1960s. She was involved in many student groups that supported civil rights and fought against US involvement in the Vietnam War. Her papers include numerous publications, ephemera, and other materials related to the subjects of civil rights, the draft, Vietnam, and Students for a Democratic Society.
Call number: PH004
Size: 6 linear feet (22 containers)
Walter S. Bowman (1865-1938) was a professional photographer who worked in Pendleton, Oregon, from the late 1880s to the mid 1930s. Bowmans photographs document daily life in Eastern Oregon, including special events such as the Pendleton Round-Up. The collection consists of almost 800 negatives and prints representative of the span of the photographer's work, but his noted images of tribal people were largely destroyed after his death. The collection includes three images of the Pendleton Tigers, an African-American baseball team, and one image of a Masquerade at Lehman Hot Springs including one man in black-face and several "Indians"
Call number: Coll. 129
Size of collection: 3 linear feet (3 containers)
Herbert Wallace (Wally) Butterworth (1901-1974) was a radio announcer for NBC radio and host for numerous variety and quiz programs for both radio and television. Later in life he became involved in conservative political causes, opposing the NAACP convention and attacking blacks, non-Christians, and Catholics. The collection includes correspondence, radio program scripts, original writings, phonograph records, tape recordings, and photographs.
Call number: Bx 167
Size of collection: 12.5 linear feet (9 containers)
Circuit Riders, Inc., was a group whose purpose was to spread the gospel of Christ throughout the United States. However, during the late fifties and sixties the focus of the Circuit Riders expanded to include the investigation of socialist and/or communist infiltration into all churches, government, education, the civil rights movement, and the Black Power Movement. One organization the group investigated was the W.E.B Du Bois Clubs of America. The collection includes Circuit Rider Publications and Research Files with correspondence, pamphlets and audiotapes.
Call number: CA 1857 Nov 9
Size: .01 linear feet (1 folder)
The Oregon constitution was voted on in 1857, in anticipation of statehood. Additional clauses were put to the popular vote on the prohibition of slavery, and the immigration of "Free Negroes" to the newly formed state. Statewide, the constitution, ban on slavery, and exclusion of African-Americans all passed. The ban on African-American immigrants remained in place until 1927.
Call number: Coll. 285
Size of collection: 38 linear feet, (84 containers)
Robert D. Clark (1910-2005) was a professor of speech, administrator, and President of both San Jose State College (1964-1969) and the University of Oregon (1969-1975). The collection includes correspondence, schoolwork, speeches, writings, research notes, publications, administrative reports and memoranda, and reference files that relate to Clarks work as a speech professor, university administrator, public speaker, and writer. Many papers in the collection document civil rights issues during his presidency of San Jose State College. Collection contains some university papers that correspond with those in UA 016.
Pedro Del Valle Papers, 1949-1978
Call number: Coll. 126
Size of collection: 9 linear feet (6 containers)
Pedro A. Del Valle (1893-1978) was a Lieutenant General in the United States Marine Corps and commanded the 1st Marine Division in the Pacific Theater of Operations during World War II. After the war he became Inspector General for the Marine Corps and Director of Personnel until his retirement. The collection includes incoming and outgoing correspondence, articles written by Del Valle, Speeches by Del Valle, Defenders of the American Constitution, Incorporated, miscellaneous materials and the book he wrote, Semper Fidelis. Included is correspondence with representatives of the Ku Klux Klan.
June D. Drake Photographs, ca. 1905-1915
Call number: PH 031
Size of collection: .25 linear feet (1 container) (28 photographic prints)
Collection comprises 28 mounted prints of photographs of the town and people of Silverton, Oregon. The images are mounted on board stock and most bear a variation of the Drake Bros. Studio imprint. The images are not labeled and are undated, but are believed to be ca. 1905-1915. One series shows construction of a railroad line in town, and two images include an African-American man working as part of the crew.
Call number: Ax 538
Size of collection: 21 linear feet (58 containers)
Leonard Fisher was Collection consists primarily of original illustrations for childrens books. With the exception of letters to family, the correspondence is primarily incoming letters. Manuscripts include A head full of hats and the Colonial American series written by Fisher. Speeches include those presented and written by Fisher. Production notes include the various works that Fisher collaborated upon with other authors. Also included are photographs, audio recordings, miscellaneous materials, and oversized illustrations.
Fort Huachuca, Arizona photograph album, 1940s
Call number: PH203_043
Size: 0.25 linear feet (1 container)
The collection consists of one album of 51 snapshots of African-American soldier and family at Fort Huachuca, Arizona, circa 1940s.
Call number: PH 007
Size of collection: 4 linear feet (15 containers) (1160 photographs and negatives)
Collection comprises photographic negatives and prints of images of Alaska, including waterways, city and town life, and steamboats. Also includes images of the Gray family, the O.O. Howard family, waterways and steamboats in Oregon, and the Northern Commercial Company, Empire Trading Company, Alaska Commercial Company, Alaska Exploration Company.
Call number: CA 1857 Feb 14
Size of collection: .05 linear feet (1 container)
Dates: February 14, 1857
D.W. Hawes sold slaves in the Antebellum south. In this letter, Hawes writes from Richmond, Virginia, to tell W.P. Goodbar that he has twelve slaves for sale, and that he will meet Goodbar in Atlanta to sell them.
Call number: Coll. 044
Size of collection: 4.25 linear feet (12 containers)
Collection consists of correspondence, literary manuscripts, illustrations, page proofs, research materials, scrapbook, photographs, publicity materials, and biographical information. The correspondence spans forty-four years and the bulk is from Hogan's friend, Edward Shenton, editor, author, and illustrator for Hogan's first publisher, Macrae Smith and Co.
The Jackson County, Oregon records comprise the administrative and judicial records of the county clerk's office from 1853 to 1920. The records offer insights into the form and trajectory of the social, economic, and administrative forces that shaped southern Oregon during this period. The records illustrate the rate of migration and settlement; the pace of privatization of natural resources; the growth of U.S. legal systems; the regulation of international and native populations; and the transformation of natural landscapes. In so doing, they offer a unique perspective on the assimilation of this region and its population to U.S. standards of private property, justice, racial hierarchy, geography, democracy, and acceptable social and economic exchange.
Cheryl D. James Defense Committee, Portland, Oregon. Notes on the Cheryl D. James Legal Case.
Call number: A 307
Size: .25 (3 folders)
Collection of correspondence and news clippings regarding the case of Cheryl Dawn James, an 18-year-old African-American woman from Portland, Oregon. In 1971, she was convicted of assaulting an FBI agent who came to the James residence to arrest her brother, Charles T. James, Jr., who was absent without leave from the Navy. The progress of her case and the activities of various religious groups on her behalf are chronicled here. The collection includes copies of clippings, brochures, and newsletters from the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom.
B.W. Kilburn Stereo Co. Photographs, c. 1870-1906
Call Number: PH194_003
Size: 0.25 linear feet (1container)
Ben W. Kilburn (1827-1909) took sole control of Kilburn Bros. (est. 1865) in 1877 as a photographer and publisher. His merchandising techniques made the company a major force in stereos. The company ceased production in 1909. The collection consists of 27 images including the Johnstown Flood, the San Francisco Earthquake, and the Philippines war. Two images demonstrate stereotypes: "It's so easy being lazy" (boy on horse in front of unpainted wood building, 1901) and "Distinguished Southerners, Grinding Cane" (four boys sitting on porch steps, chewing sugar cane, 1879) and one shows a cotton worker, 1879.
Call number: Bx 046
Size of collection: 1.25 linear feet (4 containers)
The Ku Klux Klan, Tillamook Chapter No. 8 was active from 1921 through 1938; its activities were mostly anti-Catholic and anti-Semitic due to the fact that the Oregon exclusion laws dating from the Oregon Territorial government period prevented African Americans from settling in Oregon. The collection contains correspondence, minutes, reports, membership lists, financial records, an account ledger, and costume insignia. Included are some records pertaining to the Klans Empire Mutual Life Insurance Company, a national organization.
Elinor Langer Research Collection for the book A Hundred Little Hitlers: The Death of a Black Man, the Trial of a White Racist, and the Rise of the Neo-Nazi Movement in America
Note: this collection is currently closed to researchers.
Call number: Coll. 306
Elinor Langer (1939- ) is a writer and scholar living in Portland, Oregon. Her book A Hundred Little Hitlers: The Death of a Black Man, the Trial of a White Racist, and the Rise of the Neo-Nazi Movement in America examines the murder of Mulugeta Seraw by skinheads in Portland, the subsequent trial of white supremacist Tom Metzger, and the neo-Nazi movement. This collection comprises Langer's research materials she amassed while researching and writing the book.
Robbie McClaran is a noted American photo journalist, widely published in magazines. Drawing on his Southern roots, McClaran undertook a documentary project of the radical Right, capturing images of Republican politicians, Klan activists, Right to Life activists, militias, survivalists, the remnants of David Koresh's compound at Waco, and a portrait of terrorist Timothy McVeigh. The collection assembles McClaran's exhibit, "Angry White Men," with text panels and prints.
Call number: Ax 533
Size of collection: 17 linear feet (12 containers)
Milton Meltzer (May 8, 1915- ) held many positions in his life, varying from working in public relations to lecturing and working as a full-time writer. Collection comprises primarily literary manuscripts and correspondence related to Milton Meltzer's work as an author and editor of books for children and young people on American history, particularly African American history. Relevant material: literary manuscripts, correspondence, book proposals and notes regarding his books on African American biography and history.
Ken Metzler Papers, 1934-1973
Call number: UA 007
Size of collection: 2 linear feet, (6 containers)
Ken Metzler was a Professor of Journalism at the University of Oregon and published a book about acting President Charles E. Johnson, titled Confrontation: The Destruction of a College President in 1973. This collection contains Metzlers research files for that book including correspondence by and about Charles E. Johnson, clippings, publications, notes, and manuscripts. Related topical files include: About Charles Johnson: E-F Eaglin; About Charles Johnson: U-V-W Chapter V- Despair; By Charles Johnson: O-P Office of Minority Relations; About UO Alphabetical files: Blacks, DeBerry, Malcolm X, Racism. See also newspaper clippings.
Call number: PH036
Size: 99 linear feet (348 containers)
Thomas Leander "Lee" Moorhouse (1850-1926) was a photographer and businessman in Pendleton, Oregon. From 1888 to 1916, he produced over 9,000 images documenting urban, rural, and Native American life in the Columbia Basin and Umatilla County, Oregon. During his lifetime Moorhouse achieved substantial acclaim in the US and in Europe for his images of tribal people. The collection consists primarily of glass-plate negatives. One image shows Buffalo Bill's Artillery Corps--eight African-American men in uniform--and two include an African-American man participating in Elks events in Pendleton.
Call number: Coll. 295
Size: 30 linear ft. (20 containers)
The Portland branch of the NAACP was founded in 1914, and worked in the state of Oregon to establish equality for all people and to eliminate racial discrimination in Oregon. The collection contains correspondence, meeting materials, financial records, and publications.
Northwest Photography is an artificial collection of images of the Northwest or by regional photographers. Identified commercial photographers and notable amateurs are separated into individual collections. Other images are arranged by subject and by size. One image shows Uncle Tom's Cabin company (young girl in elaborate dress sits in pony cart in front of theatre, backed by group of men. An African-American man in elaborate uniform stands among crowd, possibly usher, c. 1880s).
Call number: UA 001.10
Size of collection: 110 linear feet, (220 containers)
The collection contains the organizational papers of the Office of the President at the University of Oregon, during the Presidency of Arthur S. Flemming (1960-1968). The collection includes correspondence, publications, committee files, building project files, budget reports, statistics, and meeting minutes. Records arranged by academic year, then alphabetically by folder title. A selection of documents from the collection can be found online at University of Oregon Office of the President.The digital collection includes the ability to browse by theme in the navigation bar. One of the themes noted in documents is civil rights. Related topical files include: Student Activities Committee, Negro Colleges, Threatened suit against Emerald, Criticism, Associated Students of the UO, Discrimination, Sigma Chi, Black Student Union, Civil Rights Compliance Report, Racism, Desegregation Training Institute
Call number: UA 001.11
Size of collection: 11 linear feet, (12 containers)
The collection contains the organizational papers of the Office of the President at the University of Oregon during the Acting Presidency of Charles E. Johnson and N. Ray Hawk (1968-1969). The collection includes correspondence, committee files, department files, budget reports, statistics, and meeting minutes. Records arranged by academic year, then alphabetically by folder title. A selection of documents from the collection can be found online at University of Oregon Office of the President. The digital collection includes the ability to browse by theme in the navigation bar. One of the themes noted in documents is civil rights. Related topical files include: Black Studies, Civil Rights, Complaints, Discrimination Policy, Minority Group Relations, Racism, Committee on Racism, Disadvantaged
Call number: UA 16
Size of collection: 82.75 linear feet, (175 containers)
The collection contains the organizational papers of the Office of the President at the University of Oregon during the Presidency of Robert D. Clark (1969-1975). The collection includes correspondence, committee files, department files, budget reports, statistics, and meeting minutes. Records arranged by academic year, then alphabetically by folder title. A selection of documents from the collection can be found online at University of Oregon Office of the President The digital collection includes the ability to browse by theme in the navigation bar. One of the themes noted in documents is civil rights. Related topical files include: Black Student Union, Discrimination, Disadvantaged students, Civil rights, Racism symposium, Minority relations, Affirmative Action
Call number: Ax 322
Size of collection: 15.75 linear feet (43 containers)
Jack Olsen was a journalist and writer of true crime books. His early work focused on sports reporting, primarily for Sports Illustrated. He wrote several articles and books about sports figures, such as Muhammad Ali. His biography, Black is Best: The Riddle of Cassius Clay, was published in 1967. Included in the collection are audio reel-to-reel tapes of interviews with Ali and members of his family and entourage.
Oregon Military Album
Call number: PH203_050
Size: .1 linear foot (1 album)
The collection consists of an album of 95 photograph postcards of regional military images from the early 20th century: Oregon National Guard and Ambulance Co., Battery A of the Guard, Company C of the Third Oregon Infantry. Locations include Camp Summers at Columbia Beach, Vancouver Barracks, Astoria, American Lake near Fort Lewis. Some images show Astoria's Centennial of 1911 and soldiers on parade; one view of the African-American soldiers of 25th Infantry.
Pershin's Studio Photographs
Call number: PH200_236
Size: 0.01 linear feet (1 container)
Pershins Studio was located in Portland, and probably belonged to E.R. Pershin, who was active in 1910 in Park Rapids, Minnesota, and in 1911 in Klamath Falls, Oregon. Pershin published several postcards of the Crater Lake camp from which photographer B.B. Bakowski, at the time also based in Klamath Falls, disappeared in a blizzard in 1991. One image shows Committee and Entertainers for Transportation Club Excursion to Tillamook beaches. July 9, 1916. (Men on railroad tracks, some in costume, one in blackface. Three are named.)
Walter Pierce Papers, 1888-1969
Call number: Coll. 068
89.25 linear feet (88 containers)
Walter Pierce was a U.S. Congressman from the 2nd District in Oregon, 1933-1943, a Democrat. He had also been governor of Oregon from 1923 to 1927. The collection consists of correspondence, speeches, reports, photographs and material covering U.S. and Northwest history and politics. A major portion details Pierce's involvement with New Deal programs. The papers deal with agriculture, irrigation and land reclamation, public ownership, forest management, and the development of hydroelectric power. There are substantial files on such Depression-era federal programs as the Civilian Conservation Corps, Public Works Administration and Works Progress Administration (emphasizing the Northwest); information on the situations and problems of minority groups, including Black Americans, Indians (Native Americans), Catholics, Jews and Japanese. Included in the collection are files relating to the Ku Klux Klan in Oregon, as well as materials reflecting Pierces anti-Japanese sentiment.
Call number: Coll. 210
Size of collection: 2.5 linear feet (3 containers)
Frank Purinton (1895-1991) was an activist who sought to preserve the United States and Christianity from the "Communist-Zionist-Satanist" plot. He was active in the American Legion and the John Birch Society and published a patriotic Christian newsletter. The collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, and printed materials reflecting Purinton's views. Included is correspondence with David Duke of the Ku Klux Klan.
Call number: Coll. 063
Size of collection: 1.5 linear feet (3 containers)
Eva Elsie Rutland (1917- ) is a writer of books and short stories primarily relating to the African American experience and race relations in America. The collection includes correspondence, literary manuscripts and miscellaneous records that reflect her writing career.. Her autobiography, The Trouble with Being a Mama, was published in 1964 by Abingdon Press. The book is about the troubles and joys of being a wife and mother of four in a middle-class black family. It was reissued in 2007 under the title When We Were Colored: a Mother's Story.
Call number: Ax 100
Size of collection: 46.75 linear feet (36 containers)
Robert W. Sawyer (1880-1959) was a prominent figure in the public affairs of Oregon and the Northwest from the 1920s through the 1950s. He gained prominence as editor of the Bend Bulletin from 1919 to 1953. In the 1920s he served as the second judge of the recently formed Deschutes County. Over many years he served in numerous important committees and organizations at the state, regional and national level. This collection contains a vast assortment of correspondence and materials related to the significant public affairs and political matters in which Sawyer was involved, as well as materials relating to Bend civic matters and Sawyers own life and career. Included is correspondence relating to the Ku Klux Klan in Oregon in the 1920s.
Call number: CA 1857 Apr 18
Size of collection: .05 linear feet (1 folder)
Francis Scheffer sold slaves in the Antebellum south. In this letter, Scheffer denies that the slave he sold to Hawes and Bartlett in Atlanta, Georgia, was unsound.
Martin Schmitt Photographs
Call number: PH325
Size: 1 linear foot (1 container)
Martin Ferdinand Schmitt (d. 1983) was the first curator of Special Collections at the University of Oregon and a scholar of the American West. The collection consists of Schmitt's personal photographs and his mother's childhood in Germany. An album of Addison Seminary (Concordia University, Illinois) shows campus and student activities including theatre; there are four images of African Americans, 1900-1901.
Janet Stevenson Papers, 1929-1996
Call number: Ax 265
Size of collection: 17.75 linear feet (15 containers)
Author Janet Marshall Stevenson (1913-2009) was a writer of fiction and non-fiction covering the topics of civil rights, the women's movement and the arts. This collection contains manuscripts, holographs and photographs of her many short stories, articles and books; within this collection are research items and family papers associated with her biography of Robert W. Kenny, an influential liberal that championed the rights of several of the "Hollywood 10" before the House Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC). Included is the manuscript, research materials, and correspondence relating to her juvenile biography, Marian Anderson. Also included is the manuscript for her book The Montgomery Bus Boycott: December 1955: American Blacks Demand an End to Segregation.
Call number: Coll. 183
Size of collection: 28 linear feet (56 containers)
Collection comprises subject files, research files, and correspondence created by Keith Stimely in his research of revisionist historiography and journalism concerning the two world wars and their aftermaths, and in his research of American and European political movements in the 1970s and 1980s of neo-Fascist, neo-Nazi, racialist or anti-Zionist character. Included is research material on the Invisible Empire Knights of the Ku Klux Klan, the Knights of the Ku Klux Klan, research materials on the National Socialist White Peoples' Party, White Patriot Party, White Peoples' Committee to Restore God's Laws, the publication White Power, and Other White Supremacist Groups.
Doris Ulmann Photographs
Call number PH038
Size of collection: 54 linear ft. (146 containers)
Doris Ulmann (1882-1934), was a native of New York City and educated in public school-at the School of Ethical Culture, a socially liberal organization that championed individual worth regardless of ethnic background or economic condition, and Columbia University. Her interest in photography was at first a hobby, but after 1918 she devoted herself to the art professionally. Trained as a pictorialist by Clarence White, Ulmann's early work includes a series of portraits of prominent intellectuals, artists and writers: William Butler Yeats, John Dewey, Max Eastman, Sinclair Lewis, Lewis Mumford, Joseph Wood Krutch, Martha Graham, Anna Pavlova, Paul Robeson, and Lillian Gish. In 1932 Ulmann began her most important series, assembling documentation of Appalachian folk arts and crafts for Allen Eatons 1937 book, Handicrafts of the Southern Highlands. From 1927, Ulmann was assisted on her rural travels by John Jacob Niles, a musician and folklorist who collected ballads while Ulmann photographed. Doris Ulmann documented the rural people of the South, particularly the mountain peoples of Appalachia and the Gullahs of the Sea Islands, with a profound respect for her sitters and an ethnographer's eye for culture.
Underwood & Underwood (1882-1920) was a North American stereograph firm that distributed images by photographers such as Bierstadt and Jarvis and then began to produce original works, eventually dominating the industry. The firm sold out to Keystone in 1923. This collection consists of 49 images from the Philippines conflict of the Spanish-American War, several Northwest images, and two of President McKinley. There is a cased set of 84 images of Mexico, not itemized. One image shows
Cotton is King - A Plantation Scene, Georgia, U.S.A. (African-American men, women and children picking cotton in large cotton field, 1895).
Call number: UA REF 001
Size: 16 linear feet (16 containers)
File on African Students, Organization of (OAS): 1979 Information booklet entitled "Focus Uganda: Dorothy Project"; Memo from OAS Secretary Joseph Njuguna re: Intra-Continental Orientation, 1979
File on Convocations: 1986 memorandum of the Fall Convocation, "Celebrating Racial and Ethnic Diversity in Contemporary Society"
Four files on Matthew Deady: Various newspaper clippings, Matthew P. Deady, Attorney at Law" by Robert N. Peters, "Matthew Deady and the Federal Judicial Response to Racism in the Early West" by Ralph James Mooney, Correspondence
File on Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration: Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Week 1992, 1995 Schedule of Events; 1997 Poster.
File on Minorities: Black Students Union Proposal, Task Force on Black Studies: memo: Encouragement of minority group members to pursue Higher Education Opportunities at the U of O, no dates.
File on President's Committee on Racism: Recommendations of the Subcommittee on Intercollegiate Athletics for the President's Committee on Racism, 1968.
File on Racism: Open letter to the U of O community, 1989; historical article regarding racism at the U of O in the 1920-30s.
University Archives Biographical Subject Files
Call number: UA REF 002
Size: 10 linear feet (10 containers)
These files are organized by personal name.
Call number: UA REF 003
Size: 23 linear feet (23 containers)
Three images filed under Black Student Union: Group shot, head shot, half body shot.
University Archives Publications Collection
Call number: UA REF 004
Size: 98 linear feet (98 containers)
File on Affirmative Action, Office of: 1998 Pamphlets on Sexual Harassment and Racism; Poster; Pamphlet on racism; Booklet: Discrimination Grievance Procedures, 1998.
File on Black Student Union, 1972-1978: Celebration of Humanity VI and VII; 1973, 1974 Seminars; 1973 Black Cultural Month; Festac 77; 1978, 1979 Calendar of Events; 1974 Black Arts Festival; Blackness Is, 1972.
File on Foreign Student Organization: 1969-1986 Newsletter, 2/69, Fall 1986; 1975 African Day Celebration; 1961 Foreign Student Friendship Foundation; 1969 International Festival
File on Protest, Minorities, 1970-1986: "La Nueva Onda", 4/70; "Fact Action"; Black Panthers; "Doing It Black"; "The Black Manifesto"; Rally Notices; "Perspectives on Racism" Conference; "Liberation News", 1/71; "Which Side are You On?", 7/69; "The Emerald", 5/86.
University Archives Records
The University Archives is the official repository for administrative records produced by the University as well as for historical information. Student organizations and Student Affairs documents may provide useful information. Consult with the Archivist.
Theophilus Magruder v. Jacob Vanderpool, U. S. District Court, Or., 1851.
Call number: B 122
Size: 1 folder (9 leaves)
Jacob Vanderpool was an African American owner of a saloon, restaurant, and boarding house living in Oregon City, Clackamas County, Oregon at a time when the Oregon Territorial government enforced an exclusion law (that had been passed by the Oregon Territorial government in 1844), preventing blacks from living in Oregon. In 1851, Vanderpool's neighbor brought suit against him, and Judge Thomas Nelson expelled him from the state. This small collection consists of photostat copies of case documents.
Vanport City, Oregon photographs, 1942-1944
Call number: PH203_025.
Size: .1 linear feet (1 album)
Album produced in 1944 by Oregon Shipbuilding Corp. documenting construction and operation of Vanport City, a shipyard workers' development, in response to a query from an English government official. 34 images, text. The town was destroyed by a catastrophic flood in 1948. Although Vanport had a substantial African-American population, only white people appear in the photographs. Photos from the flood are also available, please inquire.
Call number: Ax 690
Size of collection: 12 linear feet (8 containers)
Ruth Cornwall Woodman was a writer of radio and television scripts. The collection includes scripts and associated material for 204 Death Valley Days radio and television programs, an index to the scripts, notebooks from summer research trips, and correspondence with Death Valley acquaintances. There is also research data and a draft for The History of the Pacific Coast Borax Company, which was published in greatly reduced form. Correspondence includes copies of forty-six letters written from Vassar College, 1914-1916, and correspondence with agents and publishers. Included are two scripts for Death Valley Days shows about African-American characters.
John Zerzan, Papers, 1946-2000
Call number: Coll. 273
Size of collection: 10.25 linear feet (22 containers)
John Zerzan (1943- ) is a writer and an anarchist in Oregon. The collection includes letters, essay and book drafts, and anarchist ephemera and publications that reflect his activities. Included is his article The Other Ku Klux Klan.
Black History in SCUA Collections
Special Collections and University Archives collects in the topical area Multicultural Collections in all formats by and about Native Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans, and African Americans.
#BlackHistoryMonth: This portrait of Ella Welster, a prominent African American singer, is part of our collection of...
[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.
Mission | Special Collections & University Archives
Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.
Historical Collection Strengths
Oregon history, politics, culture
Authors and illustrators of children’s books
The conservative and libertarian movement in the last half of the twentieth century
Popular literature, with an emphasis on Western fiction
Missionaries to foreign countries, especially in the Far East
Journalism and Communications
Photographs of the Northwest, including the Major Lee Moorhouse and Angelus Studio collections
Northwest literature, including fiction by Ken Kesey, Damon Knight, Kate Wilhelm, Ursula K. Le Guin, Molly Gloss, and William Stafford