Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Book Collections in Special Collections & University Archives

This guide featires the Rare Books collection and Oregon Collection held by the University of Oregon Libraries Special Collections & University Archives

Related Guides

Teaching with Primary Source Materials

Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.

Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.

About SCUA Book Collections

Special Collections includes a large, general collection of rare books and several smaller, named collections. The collections concern a range of subjects and include a variety of materials, such as:

  • medieval manuscripts
  • early printed books
  • fine press imprints
  • modern first editions
  • pulp fiction
  • pulp magazines
  • children's books
  • zines
  • Oregon Collection

Selected collections have been fully cataloged in the UO Libraries catalog, LibrarySearch, and may be searched by keyword for collection title. Materials in uncataloged collections may be accessed by guides in Special Collections & University Archives.

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

Director of Special Collections

David de Lorenzo's picture
David de Lorenzo
Contact:
Knight Library
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
541-643-1904
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift