Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Finding Primary Sources

The UO Libraries holds specialized, primary source collections on various topics and in various formats.

Finding Articles in Magazines and Journals

To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will usually need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look for article citations by subject, by author, or by a few keywords which describe your topic. Most historical indexes are available only in print. However some of the main 19th- and early 20th-century indexes for English-language magazines are available online. To browse anthologies of select articles from late 18th- through early 20th-century American history, search for the title Debating Historical Issues In The Media Of The Time in the UO Library Catalog.

The following indexes, given in chronological order of coverage, are available from the library home page under Databases & Indexes or in the Knight Library Reference Section. Ask at the Reference Desk for more information. Don't limit your search to the Knight Library--remember there are branch libraries with specialized collections in architecture, the arts, law, and science. Once you find a citation, you will need to search the library catalog for the journal title and note its call number if we own it. If you don't find it in the online catalog, try the card catalog in the Current Periodicals Room.

Magazine and Journal Indexes

Magazines and Journals Full Text

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift