A Dictionary of Physics by
Here is a thorough revision of a classic desktop reference, bringing readers 3,900 entries--200 new to this edition--that define the terms of this fast-changing field with clarity and without jargon. Daintith provides coverage of all areas of physics and many related fields, including astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. He offers expanded information on applied physics, statistical distributions, polymers, and nanoscience, and includes ten feature articles on such key topics as crystal defects, magnetic resonance imaging, and the solar system. Here, too, are detailed appendices on SI units and the electromagnetic spectrum, a timeline of key dates in physics, a list Nobel Prize winners, and much more. Featuring more than 120 diagrams, graphs, and tables, this is a superb resource for students, teachers, and professional physicists.
If you need a section of one of these books, click through to the LibrarySearch page, log in and choose "Scan & Deliver" and we'll get a scanned copy for you.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98th Edition
An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.
Dictionary of Physics by
Hardbound. This dictionary is one of a series of dictionaries brought out by Russky Yazyk Publishers which deals with the main branches of science and technology, giving the main terms pertaining to the branch concerned.The Russian vocabulary contained in this dictionary is based on the Explanatory Dictionary of Physics: The Main Terms brought out by Russky Yazyk Publishers in 1987, and enlarged by the addition of a number of widely used Russian terms and terminological phrases which prove rather difficult to translate.The dictionary is intended for a wide range of users - from engineers using physical methods of investigation in their work to students attending colleges and universities. It is also a useful tool for physicists and translators of literature on physics.
Dictionary of Pure and Applied Physics by
Clear, precise definitions of scientific terms are crucial to good scientific and technical writing-and to understanding the writings of others. Whether you are a physicist, engineer, mathematician, or technical writer, whether you work in a research, academic, or industrial setting, we all have the occasional need for comprehensible, working definitions of scientific terms. To meet that need, CRC Press proudly announces publication of the Dictionary of Pure and Applied Physics-the first published volume of CRC's Comprehensive Dictionary of Physics. Authored by eminent scientists from around the world, offers concise, authoritative definitions of more than 3,000 terms covering a range of pure and applied disciplines: acousticsbiophysics communicationselectricityelectronics geometrical optics low-temperature physicsmagnetismmedical physics physical optics The editor has taken care to ensure each entry is as self-contained as possible, to include terms from the frontiers of technology, and to omit obsolete terms that can clutter a search. The result is a lucid, accessible, and convenient reference valuable to both the novice and the seasoned professional.
Encyclopedia of Applied Physics (12 volumes) by
The Encyclopedia of Applied Physics - EAP - is a monumental first in scope, depth, and usability. It demonstrates the synergy between physics and technological applications. On more than 15,000 printed pages this established multi-reference work covers all relevant fields in physics, in particular optics, laser physics, solids, semiconductor, atom and nuclear physics, biophysics as well as all the neighboring fields of physics and engineering. The reader will benefit from a concise summary of the basics, methods and applications to all key subject areas in modern physics and physical technology.
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (18 volumes) by
Nine years has passed since the 1992 second edition of the encyclopedia was published. This completely revised third edition, which is a university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering, is refreshed with numerous articles about current research in these fields. For example, the new edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas. The continuing Editor-in-Chief, Robert Meyers, and the Board prepared a new topical outline of physical science and technology to define complete coverage. Section editors are either Nobel Laureates or editors of key journals in their fields. Additional Board members representing the global scientific community were also recruited. The new 18-volume edition of the Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3E, will have the added feature of an Index Volume, containing abstracts of all of the articles in the encyclopedia. The latest edition of the Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology: Has been completely updated with no less than 90% revised material and 50% new content throughout the volumes Presents eighteen volumes, nearly 800 authoritative articles and 14,500 pages Is lavishly illustrated with over 7,000 photographs, illustrations and tables Presents an increased emphasis on the hottest topics such as information processing, environmental science, biotechnology and biomedicine Includes a final Index Volume containing Thematic, Relational and Subject indexes
Handbook of Physical Quantities by
Reliable and quickly accessible information concerning the physical phenomena and properties of various media is in great demand by many scientists in their everyday work. This extensive reference provides such information, presenting basic physical parameters and properties of substances employed in modern science and industry. The material is divided into the following branches: Mechanics Thermodynamics Transport Phenomena Electricity and Magnetism Optics and Lasers Nuclear Physics Astronomy Geophysics
If you need a section of one of these books, click through to the LibrarySearch page, log in and choose "Scan & Deliver" and we'll get a scanned copy for you.
AIP Physics Desk Reference by
Originally published by the American Institute of Physics as the Physics Vade Mecum, this third edition has been completely updated to reflect contemporary modern physics. It is a concise compilation of the most frequently used physics data and formulae with their derivations, and this edition contains six new chapters, with outdated chapters dropped, and new chapters added on atmospheric physics, electricity and magnetism, elementary particle physics, fluid dynamics, geophysics, nonlinear physics, particle accelerators, polymer physics, and quantum theory. A new, final chapter deals with practical laboratory data, while the references and bibliographies have been updated. The book should prove a valuable tool for researchers, professionals and students in physics as well as others who use physics data.
American Institute of Physics Handbook by 
Physics Quick Reference Guide by
This is a reference guide to the most commonly used mathematical formulae, tables of data, symbols, units, standard nomenclature, and fundamental constants in physics. The material is taken from the first chapter of A Physicist's Desk Reference.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
