Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Finding Newspaper Resources

A guide to newspaper resources available through UO and online.

Finding News Articles in U.S. & International Newspapers

If you're looking for a particular article, this page provides a list of newspaper indexes and full-text sources for news stories available in U.S. and international newspapers.

U.S. & International Newspaper Indexes and Full-Text Databases

Online:

Online:

Online:

Print:

A print index for the Wall Street Journal covering the years 1955-1996 is also available at Knight HG 1 .W26.

Online:

Print:

A print index to the Washington Post covering the years 1979-1996 is available at Knight AI 21 .W3.

Online:

Microfilm:

The UO Libraries' Microforms Unit has an index to the San Francisco Chronicle in two separate microfiche sets, one from 1913-1949 and another from 1950-1980, at MICROFICHE AI 21 .S26 S26.

Online:

Online:

Print:

A print index covering 1790 to 2013 is located at the south end of the Reference Collection (REF KNIGHT AI 21 .T39 to REF KNIGHT AI 21 .T46).

Online:

Microfilm:

  • Index to Readex Microfilm Collection of Early American Newspapers, 1690-1860 (REF KNIGHT AI 3 .K45)
  • The NewsBank microfiche collection provides full text content and indexes to newspaper articles from over 100 U.S. newspapers, arranged in 21 different subject collections. The coverage is from 1970-1995.
Loading

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Journalism and Communication Librarian

Carolina Hernandez - Communication/ Journalism's picture
Carolina Hernandez - Communication/ Journalism
Contact:
University of Oregon Libraries
1299 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1299
541-346-3078
Social:Twitter Page