Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Finding Newspaper Resources

A guide to newspaper resources available through UO and online.

Finding Articles in Oregon Newspapers

If you're looking for a particular article, this page provides a list of newspaper indexes and full-text sources for news stories available in Oregon newspapers.

For a quick look at current topics in Oregon media, try the Oregon Media Directory. This site compiles links to 60 websites for Oregon newspapers, radio and TV stations, and community-oriented blogs. There is a custom search box for each category, as well as for the entire site.

Oregon Newspaper Indexes and Full-Text Databases

Online:

Microfilm:

  • Portland Newspaper Index. 1851-1979. MICROFICHE AI 21.O5 1851-1979. Produced from card index prepared by the Multnomah County Library. "Articles are indexed from the Oregonian, 1851-1979, the Oregon Journal, 1902-1979, plus some other local newspapers, periodicals, and miscellaneous monographs. The subjects pertain to Oregon, Portland, and the Northwest."
  • Portland Newspaper Index, 1980-1984. MICROFICHE AI 21.O5 1980-1984. Continuation of Portland Newspaper Index. Indexes articles from:
    • Oregonian
    • Oregon Journal
    • Willamette Week
    • Business Journal

Online:

Microfilm:

  • Eugene Newspaper Index. 20 fiches. MICROFICHE AI 21 .E96. Compiled by George Ann Clingan and Patty Rhay at the Lane Community College Library. The first part, pages 1-22, is the list of newspapers indexed, the list of abbreviations, and the subject authority. The second part, pages 23-391, is the Biography section. The third part, pages 548-1051, is the General News section. Papers indexed: Democratic Herald, Democratic Register, Eugene City News, Eugene City Review, Eugene City Guard, Pacific Journal, and People's Press. Covers 1855-1870.

Online:

  • Coos Bay World, Jan 1996 - May 1996
  • Corvallis Gazette Times, 1995 - 1999
  • Daily Astorian, 1998-1990
  • Eugene Register-Guard, 1988 - 2002
  • Klamath Falls Herald & News, 1996
  • LaGrande Observer, 1995 - 2004
  • Lake Oswego Review, 1996 - 2004
  • Portland Oregonian, Jan 1985-Dec 1992
  • Salem Statesman Journal, Jan 1987 - Sept 2002
  • Tigard Times, 1996 - 2003
  • West Linn Tidings, 1998 - 2004
  • Willamette Week, 1974 - 1997
  • Wilsonville Spokesman, 1995 - 2004

Microfilm:

  • East Oregonian Index [Pendelton], 1976-1983, KNIGHT AI 21 .E753a
  • Oregon Journal Index, 1902-1908, KNIGHT AI 21.O78
  • Oregon Spectator Index, 1846-1854, OR.COLL. AI 21 .O7
Loading

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Journalism and Communication Librarian

Carolina Hernandez - Communication/ Journalism's picture
Carolina Hernandez - Communication/ Journalism
Contact:
University of Oregon Libraries
1299 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1299
541-346-3078
Social:Twitter Page