Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Law - United States, General

This guide is a selected list of resources for starting research in United States law.

Starting Your Research

The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in law. For further assistance, ask at the Reference Desk in the Law Library, or email your question at lawref@uoregon.edu.

These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.

  • Dictionaries
    These sources can help you understand legal terminology:
    • Black's Law Dictionary [LAW REF KF156 .B53 2014]
    • Burton's Legal Thesaurus [LAW REF KF156 .B856 1998]
    • Everybody's Law Dictionary
    • Modern Dictionary for the Legal Profession [LAW REF KF156 .B49 2008]
    • Oxford Dictionary of American Legal Quotations [LAW REF KF159 .S53 1993]
    • Oxford Reference Online: Law
    • Random House Webster's Dictionary of the Law [LAW REF KF156 .C57 2000]
       
  • Encyclopedias
    These sources provide an overview of major legal subjects, concepts and events:
    • Oxford Companion to American Law [LAW REF KF156 .O94 2002; also available online]
    • West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2d ed. [LAW REF KF154 .W47 2005]
         
  • Research Guides
    These sources provide detailed steps for researching the law, including how to use many of the standard legal research tools:
    • Fundamentals of Legal Research [LAW RES KF240 .J3 2009]
    • How to Find the Law [LAW REF KF240 .C538 1989]
    • Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law [LAW LIB KF242.A1 E43 2009]
       
  • Legal Citation
    These sources can help you to understand legal abbreviations and the proper format for citing legal sources:
    • ALWD Citation Manual, 5th ed. [LAW RSRV KF245 .A45 2014 ]
    • Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations [LAW RSRV KF246 .B46 2009]
    • Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation [LAW RSRV KF245 .U55 2010]
    • Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Citations [LAW RSRV KF246 .B45 2001]

Law Library Help

  Email Phone

Law Reference Librarian

Jaye Barlous's picture
Jaye Barlous
Contact:
UO Libraries
John E. Jaqua Law Library
1221 University of Oregon
Eugene OR, 97403
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Law