Research Guides: Geographic Information Systems: Free GIS Data

Librarian

Kathy Stroud

Email Me

Contact:

University of Oregon Libraries
1299 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1299
kstroud@uoregon.edu

541-346-3051

Subjects: Government Information

Free GIS Data

This page provides links to free Geographic Information Systems (GIS) common data types. It is broken in to four sections. First, there are links to University of Oregon Social Science Instructional Labs (SSIL) web pages containing or with further links to GIS data on external sources. The second section contains links to datasets for Oregon, while the third section has links to United States datasets. The final section provides links to spatial datasets that do not fit in the categories above.

This page is meant to be a starting point for finding and acquiring GIS data, and it is not an exhaustive list of free GIS data on the world wide web. However, as with any information you obtain, you should always critically question any GIS data you obtain and use, whether from the World Wide Web or otherwise. For example, you should ask where data came from, who produced it, what errors or omissions it might contain, and so on.

GIS data links at UO

The links below are to University of Oregon web sites containing GIS data.

GIS Data Links at UO SSIL
This page from the Social Science Instructional Labs at UO contains a number of links to general, environmental, demographic, and Oregon-specific GIS data available for download from external links. The page also links to a number of GIS job and internship resources.
Data Services at UO Libraries
Links to the main Data Services at UO Libraries page. From this page you can access other web pages containing Oregon and Washington spatial data from the UO GIS collection, the UO aerial photography collection, and guides to free online data and tutorials for GIS software.
UO Libraries Oregon Municipal GIS data
Links to University of Oregon libraries web page containing external web site links where Oregon municipal and city GIS data can be obtained.
UO Libraries Oregon County GIS data
Links to the University of Oregon libraries web page containing external web site links where GIS data for Oregon counties can be obtained.
UO Libraries Oregon Statewide GIS data
Links to University of Oregon libraries page containing external web site links where statewide Oregon GIS data can be obtained.

Oregon GIS data links

The links below are to web sites containing GIS data for Oregon:

Oregon Spatial Data Library
This website provides geospatial data depicting many types of features in and across Oregon, including administrative boundaries, geophysical and bioscience features, climate measurements, elevation, hazards, hydrography, transportation, and more.
Oregon Geospatial Data Clearinghouse
Links to the State of Oregon Spatial Data Library, Digital Ortho Quads, Digital Elevation Model (DEM) files, and other geospatial datasets.
Oregon Imagery Explorer
An interactive website that allows you to view, and compare Oregon imagery (2005, 2009, 2012, 2014, and 2016 NAIP color imagery as well as 2017 and 2018 OSIP imagery)
Oregon Department of Transportation Maps and GIS
From this web page you can access and download statewide, county, city, region, and district Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) maps as PDFs. You can also access a number of interactive web maps operated by ODOT, as well as link to the ODOT GIS FTP site where you can download GIS shapefiles related to transportation-based phenomena for the state of Oregon.
Oregon Department of Forestry Maps & Data
Links to forestry related maps and GIS data for Oregon provided by the Oregon Department of Forestry.
DOGAMI Interactive Maps and Geospatial Data
This web page contains links to a number of interactive web maps and viewers hosted by the Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries (DOGAMI). The page also contains GIS data available for download.
DOGAMI Lidar Viewer
Links to the interactive map hosted by the Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries (DOGAMI). From this map you can view and download pre-packaged extents of processed Light Detection and Ranging (Lidar) data available in raster file format.
US Forest Service PNW Region Geospatial Data
Links to a United States Forest Service web page containing GIS data for Oregon and Washington forest units.
Oregon and Washington BLM GIS Data
Links to a United States Bureau of Land Management (BLM) web site containing GIS data downloads of spatial data in Oregon and Washington related to hydrology, vegetation mapping, resource management plans, and more.
Oregon Water Resources Department Maps
Links to the state of Oregon Water Resources Department web page that contains interactive mapping tools as well as downloadable digital maps and Geographic Information Systems data.

United States GIS data links

The links below are to web sites containing GIS data for the United States:

USGS EarthExplorer
Links to the United States Geological Survey (USGS) EarthExplorer. From this site you can search and download elevation data, as well as aerial photography, Landsat data, and other satellite and remote sensing data.
USDA National Resources Conservation Service Geospatial Data Gateway
Links to the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) National Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Geospatial Data Gateway. From this site you can find elevation data sets for selected states and counties, as well as other types of geospatial data such as census coverage, climate data, geology, and others.
The National Map - Data Delivery
Links to the National Map Data Download and Visualization Services. This site provides applications and web map services for accessing ‘Topographic Information for the Nation’. This information includes topographic maps, and GIS data for: elevation; hydrography; watersheds; geographic names; orthoimagery; governmental units/boundaries; transportation; and land cover.
USGS Long Term Archive Products
On this web site, managed by the United States Geological Survey's Long Term Archive, you can view satellite images and data, aerial photography, elevation and land cover datasets, and digitized maps from a variety of sensors. The archive contains images from 1937 to present, which you can also order or download at no charge.
National Flood Hazard Layer GIS Status
From this page you can access the National Flood Hazard Layer Inventory Table, which allows you to download the most recent GIS layers of Flood Insurance Rate Maps for the United States National Flood Insurance Program.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
From this website you can download GIS, KMZ, or PDF file formats of historical county boundaries for individual states in the United States of America. You can also view and interact with animations of how county and territory boundaries have changed since the 1600's AD.
United States Census Bureau Geography Program
From the United States Census Bureau's Geography Program page you can access geographic data and products such as the TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps.
National Historic Geographical Information System (NHGIS)
From this web site you can access aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010 for free. To download data, you will need to register.
United States Fish and Wildlife Geospatial Services
Links to the United States Fish and Wildlife Service Geospatial catalog. From this web site you can access geospatial data and maps related to the mission of the Fish and Wildlife service.

Geographic Information Systems

Librarian

Free GIS Data

GIS data links at UO

Oregon GIS data links

United States GIS data links

Other GIS data links

Need Help?