Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Getting Started with Research

A guide to help with the essentials of library research

Bibliographic Management Tools

Free tool for bibliographies/reference lists and collecting your papers in one place. It has two components:

Install Mendeley Desktop on your personal computer(s), and use it to:

  • extract citation information (metadata) from pdf files that are on your desktop
  • organize your files, citations
  • set up a Watch Folder to automatically import files
  • view, annotate pdfs
  • connect to groups, share papers
  • insert footnotes and bibliographies with the included plug-in for Word and OpenOffice

Log in to Mendeley web, from any computer, to:

  • connect to your collection from other computers
  • connect to groups, share papers
  • add citations from your web browser
Tutorials on the Mendeley site, and from the University of Sheffield.

​Mendeley Apps for iPhone/iPod/iPad, and some "Mendeley-lite" Apps for Android.

Free for individual private use, with 2 GB of storage and 1 private group of up to 3 users. Extend your storage options by synchronizing with a cloud storage service (here is an example using Dropbox
). UO students, faculty, and staff have access to OneDrive, which provides 1TB of cloud storage. Use premium plans for more storage, or for larger teams.
Need more help? Contact one of our Mendeley experts: 

Or Check out the Mendeley How-To Guide:

Zotero is a free, open-source citation management tool available as a desktop application that works with browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox, and Safari. Zotero offers 300 MB of free web storage space (additional space can be purchased). 

Getting started with Zotero: 

  • Go to www.zotero.org and click on "Register" to create a free account.
  • Download the Zotero desktop application onto your personal computer and the browser extension from www.zotero.org/download 
  • Add citations to your library:
    • Click on the browser extension
    • OR add PDFs directly to the desktop application (right-click and select "Retrieve metadata for PDF")
  • Use the citation plug-in for Microsoft Word to generate in-text citations and bibliographies based on the citations in your Zotero library. (Go to Tools --> Add-ons to enable or disable Word plug-in). 

If you previously used the browser-integrated version of Zotero in Firefox, this is no longer supported. See this page for more information.

You can find documentation and trouble-shooting tips for Zotero at www.zotero.org/support/ (in process of being updated for Zotero 5.0).

Need more help? Contact one of our Zotero experts:
 
Or Check out the Zotero How-To Guide:

EndNote Online (also known as EndNote Basic) accounts are available free to UO faculty, students, and staff.   Sign up for an account at this page (You must be on a UO computer or using the UO's VPN to create an account.  Once the account is created, you do not have to use the VPN or a UO computer) 

The EndNote software is available for purchase. It is similar to the online version but with many more bells and whistles. UO faculty, students, and staff should purchase EndNote through The Duck Store to receive a discounted rate ($100). Call The Duck Store (541-346-4331) for availability.   

These programs organize and group references in any way that works for you and then allow you to work with your citations in word processing software.

Need more help? Contact one of our EndNote experts:
Loading ...

Setting up Alerts - Humanities & Social Sciences

Email alert iconMany databases include an alert feature that you can set up for various criteria. The alert can be for a citation, author, table of contents (TOC), or general topic of interest. The database will automatically be searched for the latest records matching your criteria. Then, the database will send you updated results by e-mail or RSS feed. 

Different databases will have different procedures for setting up search alerts, but the process is more or less the same. Set up alerts by following these general steps: 

  1. Search using search terms and filters;

  2. Save the search as an alert; then

  3. Give your alert a name and select frequency and/or method of delivery (e.g. email alert).

For more help, click the links below or look for the "Help" menu in your database.

BrowZine alerts are available for iOS and Android devices. See the BrowZine guide for more information:

Setting up Alerts - Science

Email alert iconMany databases include an alert feature that you can set up for various criteria. The alert can be for a citation, author, table of contents (TOC), or general topic of interest. The database will automatically be searched for the latest records matching your criteria. Then, the database will send you updated results by e-mail or RSS feed. 

Different databases will have different procedures for setting up search alerts, but the process is more or less the same. Set up alerts by following these general steps: 

  1. Search using search terms and filters;

  2. Save the search as an alert; then

  3. Give your alert a name and select frequency and/or method of delivery (e.g. email alert).

For more help, click the links below or look for the "Help" menu in your database.

BrowZine alerts are available for iOS and Android devices. See the BrowZine guide for more information:

Staying Current in Your Field - Science (Infographic)

Scientists and science professionals have to stay up-to-date with the literature that gets published in their field. Sharing information through publishing is central to a scientist's work.

"[T]he credit for a scientific discovery is awarded not to the scientist who discovers a phenomenon but to the scientist who publishes its discovery first" (Writing in the Sciences: Exploring Conventions of Scientific DiscoursePenrose and Katz, 10).

This suggests that you should use all the tools available to stay on top of new information. Below are some of the main ways scientists stay current.

Infographic on How Scientists Stay Current

Long description of "How Scientists Stay Current" infographic for web accessibility

For more information, check out these resources:

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift