Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​German Language and Literature

Starting your research

These reference sources can help you identify a topic for your research, provide an overview of a specific issue or topic, and suggest other materials which might be useful to you.

  • Oxford Companion to German Literature
    A single volume publication. It contains a wide variety of entries listed in a single alphabet and linked by a system of cross-references. Entries can be a name of an author, a name of a work, or a theme or motive. It spans the period from ca. 800 to the 1990's. Click on the call number PT41.G3 1997 to view the online catalog record for the third edition. Click on the call number PT41.G3 1986 to view the online catalog record for the second edition. Click on the call number PT41.G3 to view the online catalog record for the first, second, and third editions.
  • German Literature, an Annotated Reference Guide
    by Uwe K. Faulhaber and Penrith B.Goff (New York : Garland Pub., 1979) is an annotated bibliography embracing major research tools, literary criticism, and periodicals in the field of German literature. As a quick reference guide it is comprehensive enough for the established scholar and teacher, yet useful for the undergraduate. Its major problem is that it is not current. Click on the call number Z2231.F38 to view the full online catalog record.
  • The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies
    Published by theModern Humanities Research Association, began in 1929, and each volume is divided by language, and then time period and area. Since it includes citations to articles, collections, and books, it can help provide research ideas and information on recent popular topics. Click on the call number PB1.Y45 to view the online catalog record.
  • Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
    Britannica Concise Encyclopedia has concise, frequently scholarly articles on many topics of interest to students of literature.
  • Journals/Current Periodicals
    Browse through the table of contents of current issues of journals on German literature. These are kept on the second floor in the Current Periodicals Room. Most journals on German literature will be in the PT section. Use the same call number on a current issues to find older, bound issues in the stacks (4th floor of Knight).

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Profile

Bruce Tabb's picture
Bruce Tabb
Contact:
Special Collection and University Archives
211 Knight Library
541-346-1846