Research Guides: Food Studies: Articles (scholarly / peer-reviewed)

Article Databases

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history, culture and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.
AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all aspects of agriculture including plant and animal sciences, forestry, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, as well as food and nutrition.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of international life science scholarly journals and meeting literature from 1969 to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.

Key Journals in Food Studies

UO Full-Text Access may vary. Most of these are also searchable in our journal databases. If you cannot access the full-text of an article, use the Interlibrary Loan form.

Agriculture & Food Security (Full Text Access)
Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems (Indexing Only, Use Interlibrary Loan)
Anthropology of Food (Full Text Access)
Food & Foodways (Full Indexing & some Full Text Access)
Food and History (Indexing Only, Use Interlibrary Loan)
Food, Culture, & Society (Full Indexing & some Full Text Access)
Food Policy (Full Text Access)
Food Studies (Indexing Only, Use Interlibrary Loan)
Gastronomica: The Journal of Food and Culture (Full Text Access, minus most recent 3 years)
International Journal of Food Studies (Full Text Access)
Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development (Full Text Access)
Locale: The Australian-Pacific Journal of Regional Food Studies (Full Text Access)
Sociologia Ruralis (UO Print Access 1968-1993, click here for Index of all articles (1960-present) and then use Interlibrary Loan to access articles)

Google Scholar

Looking for a specific article by title? Want to see who cited the articles you're using to find more, related articles? Want to find a formatted citation for a book or an article for your bibliography? Google Scholar is there for you! (Works best on-campus)

Checking Your Sources

Is your book or article from an Academic / Peer-reviewed source?

Ulrichsweb: global serials directory This link opens in a new window
Directory to journals, magazines, and more. Check here to see if your articles are published in peer-reviewed publications.

The American Association of University Presses
The American Association of University Presses website lists all of the University Presses within the United States and Canada who are members. Check here to find the names of Book Publishers who publish academic / scholarly books. (Note: this only lists publishers at universities. There are additional academic publishers not listed here, but it is a good place to start checking.)

Librarian

Miriam Rigby

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

rigby@uoregon.edu

541-346-7202

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Dissertations, Ethnic Studies, Food Studies, Global Studies, Latin American Studies, Museum Studies, Open Access, Sociology