Research Guides: Dance: Videos

Dance Video Resources at UO

The UO Libraries own an extensive collection of dance videos including performances, instructional videos, and documentaries. You can find videos on DVD in the Audio & Video Room on the 3rd floor of Knight Library, while videos on VHS tape are available from the main checkout desk on the 1st floor of Knight Library.

We also subscribe to several streaming video databases with dance content; most of these allow you to make playlists, edit clips for showing examples, and embed video clips in presentations or syllabi. If accessing these from off campus, be sure to log in through the UO VPN client first so that the database will allow you to access it.

Streaming Video Resources for Dance

Academic video online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) comprises all streaming video collections from Alexander Street, including Dance in Video I and Dance in Video II. Find performances, masterclasses, and documentaries.
Dance online: Dance in video. This link opens in a new window
Streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries in ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, modern and improvisational dance by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
OnTheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Full-length, high-quality contemporary performance films by artists from around the world, filmed in Seattle, Portland, Austin, and New York.
Medici.tv (Classical Music, Opera, and Dance collection) This link opens in a new window
Streaming high-definition classical music performances, including ballets, operas, master classes, and documentaries.
Digital concert hall This link opens in a new window
Watch performances by the Berliner Philharmoniker streamed in high definition, on your TV, computer, tablet, or smartphone. About 40 concerts are broadcast each season, including symphonic performances, chamber music, choral music, childrens educational programming, and dance performances. Viewers can stream them live in real time or watch them later via the concert video archive. The archive also contains hundreds of past concerts with all the great artists of classical music, as well as documentaries and bonus films.
Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Database of anthropological and ethnographic video footage from every region of the world. Includes videos of social, ritual, and folk dances.
Comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior, covering every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Ethnomusicology: global field recordings This link opens in a new window
This resource contains materials from cultural studies of music from across the globe. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and the Ethnomusicology Archive at the University of Washington, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
EVIA Digital Archive (Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis) This link opens in a new window
Unedited ethnographic field video representing a wide variety of geographic areas; religious, ethnic, and cultural groups; music and dance traditions; music performances, rehearsals, and other music events; and ethnographic interviews.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Offers streaming access to a large variety of documentary and feature films. Major subject areas include the arts, business and training, media and communication, natural sciences and social sciences. Kanopy is limited to UO students, faculty, and staff. A DuckID is required for access both on and off campus.

Finding Dance Videos in the UO Libraries

Use the Advanced Search interface in LibrarySearch to limit the material type to "Audio & Video." You can also limit the search scope only to "UO Libraries" if you only want to search what we have here at UO. You can search for a particular choreographer or director by labeling them as "author" in the search field.

When you see your search results, you will also see facets on the left side of the page that will indicate how many results there are for specific audio and video formats. You can click on these facets to see only the results for that format. For example, to see only DVDs, click the "DVD Videos" facet.

Need Help?

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I currently work on campus on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and work remotely on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays. I am available for in-person research consultations on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and for virtual consultations (via Zoom, Teams, or phone) on any weekday.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music