Research Guides: Chemistry: 3. Handbooks, tables, and reference data

Handbooks, tables and reference data

Property Information

ELECTRONIC CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - new in 2021 - Searchable and downloadable across tables and chapters, interactive contents provides access to physical science data, and physical property data of common compounds, both inorganic and organic. Has SDS information
[print] CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics PSC call number QD65 .C4 -- latest editions in Reference
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry PSC call number QD65 .L362 1999, 2005
The Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals A comprehensive reference work on organic chemistry that provides information on thousands of substances and structural formulas. PSC call number: RS51. M4 2013 Limited free online information
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook PSC: call number TP151.P45 2008

If you are off campus and need electronic access, here are your best resources.

SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Some property data is reported in the SciFinder database along with references to primary literature reporting those values. You can search by substance name or structure. Registration is required, and you must download the Virtual Private Network (VPN) from UO Service Portal and then log in for off-campus access.

These open access databases have additional information which may be useful.

MatWeb
Data sheets for over 85,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, chemical elements, and composites. Search - Physical Properties (category + property ranges), Alloy Composition (category + property ranges) or Material Type, Manufacturer Name, Trade Name, Metal UNS Number
Sigma-Aldrich Chemical Company product information
Lists common physical properties (boiling point, molecular weight, etc.) for chemical compounds that are available through the company.
more...less...
Has SDS information
ChemSpider
Validated database of over 26 million substances from over 400 data sources. Provides access to experimental and predicted chemical properties data.
more...less...
Has SDS information.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
National Institute of Standards and Technology thermochemical, thermophysical and spectral data for thousands of compounds and reactions.
ChemIDplus
Provides numerous chemical synonyms, structures, regulatory list information, and links to other databases containing information about chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases.
Fundamental Physical Constants
Common Chemistry (Chemical Abstracts Service)
Contains CAS Registry file information for ~7900 general interest chemicals and 118 chemical elements. Searchable by chemical name, synonym, or CAS Registry Number. Provides basic data and Wikipedia link (if available).
International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.
ThermoDex
Searchable index to hundreds of print and web-based handbooks of thermodynamic properties data. It doesn’t give you the actual data, but it tells you where you can find them. Use the “Find in a Library” link on the right to find UO call numbers and locations.

CRC Handbooks

CRC Handbook resources;

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. [Science Library: QD65 .C4 -- latest editions in Reference]
Tables Relocated or Removed from CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 71st through 79th editions
Composite Index for CRC Handbooks. [Science Library: call number QD65 .C74 1991]. CRC publishes many different specialized handbooks. Even the same handbook may have different data in different editions. This index can help you to locate the exact book you need.

Spectra

A few selected resources for finding spectra. Other resources on this page and elsewhere may also provide this kind of information.

MMRShiftDB An open access NMR database for compound identification and support for computer-assisted structure elucidation. Contains about 10,000 structures and assigned spectra, with new datasets constantly added.
NIST Chemistry WebBook: National Institute of Standards and Technology thermochemical, thermophysical and spectral data for thousands of compounds and reactions.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS - IR, 13C-NMR, 1H-NMR, ESR, MS and Raman spectra, including chemical shift values and MS peak and intensity.
ChemSpider Free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Toxicological, Biological, and Safety Data

Toxicological, biological and safety information on chemical compounds. Other resources on this page will also often provide information on toxicity.

ESIS: European chemical Substances Information System Property and toxicity information; searchable by substance name, molecular formula and CAS Registry No.
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) -- these are a good source of property and toxicity information on compounds. Here are some sources:
- MSDS at Cornell -- links to MSDS and other chemical hazard information sites
- Where to Find MSDS on the Internet -- links to a variety of good sites
PubChem -- From the National Library of Medicine, "provides information on the biological activities of small molecules." Includes some basic property information.
ToxNet - a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas from the National Library of Medicine. Many kinds of reference data available.

Periodic Table

Periodic Table of the Elements. Here are some online, searchable tables with a variety of information about each element:

Chemicool
Pictorial Periodic Table -- this page has alternate styles of the periodic table
Visual Elements Periodic Table (Royal Society of Chemistry)
WebElements
and for fun, the Comic Book Periodic Table of the Elements

Conversion of units

Conversion of Units: Allows you to enter a numerical value, select a unit, and convert it to another unit.

Chemistry

Science Library Help

The Kenneth M. and Kenda H. Singer Science Librarian