Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

EndNote - Citation Management Software

References

EndNote calls your collection of references a library. You first need to populate the library. You can add references to your library by exporting them from an article database, by using a browser plugin, or by hand-typing them.

Exporting from a database

The easiest way to get references to journal articles and books into EndNote is to export from a database

Exporting from LibrarySearch

After you find an article or book in LibrarySearch, you can export it directly to EndNote. Select the ... in the upper right corner of the item in the search result and then choose EndNote Online.

LibrarySearch export screenshot

Exporting from Web of Science

Select one or more records and choose Export -> EndNote Online

Web of Science screenshot

Exporting from other databases

If you're using google scholar, a specialized article database, or publisher website and don't see an export to EndNote Online option, you'll need to export to a standard reference file and then import that file using EndNote. Below is an example using Google Scholar. We're happy to help you figure out the process for another database if you get stuck.

To export references from Google Scholar, you first need to change a setting.

  1. On the Google Scholar site, open the menu on the left and click on settings.

    Google Scholar Settings screenshot
     
  2. Scroll down to the Bibliography Manager section, change the select to Show links to import citations into EndNote, and Save

    Settings screenshot 2
     
  3. When you search now, you'll see a link called "Import into EndNote" below each item

    Search item screenshot
     
  4. Clicking that link will download a .enw file to your computer. You'll next need to import that reference into EndNote.
  5. Go back to EndNote and choose Collect -> Import References

    Import References screenshot
     
  6. Browse to find the file you downloaded, change the Import Option dropdown to "EndNote Import", and select a group to import the reference to. If you don't want to put it in a group, select "[Unfiled]".

Using the web browser plugin

EndNote provides a "Capture Reference" button you can add to your browser bookmarks. To find and install the button, log in to Endnote, select Downloads and then follow the instructions to install the button.

Endnote Download Capture Reference screenshot

Once you have the button installed, simply click it when you're looking at the journal article or other web page that you want to add to EndNote.

Note: The button doesn't work with all publisher sites. Also, it may not at the item as the correct type of item, so check the reference type after add a reference this way.

Hand-typing a reference

You shouldn't need to do this often, but if you want to cite something that hasn't been published (personal correspondence or a manuscript, for example), you'll need to enter it by hand.

  1. Log into EndNote.
  2. Select Collect -> New Reference.

    Endnote Collect New Reference
     
  3. Choose the reference type and describe the item, making sure to include all fields necessary to cite the item.

    New Reference screenshot

Attaching a file to a reference

When you add a reference to your library using any of the techniqus above, you'll only have information about the reference, not a PDF of the item. You can add the PDF as an attachment, but the online version of EndNote won't automatically find it for you.

To add a file attachment to a reference, find the reference in your library and click on the paper clip icon.

attach file screenshot

Then select Attach files.

Attach files screenshot

And pick the files you'd like to attach

Select files screenshot

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift