Research Guides: Queer Cinema: Historical, Cultural, Political, Sociological Sources

Historical, Cultural, Political, Sociological Sources

These databases will help you find journal articles and other sources that provide historical, cultural, political, and sociological contexts in which films are produced, shown, and received by audiences and critics.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history, culture and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, popular, and internet publications, providing interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics, including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly articles covering world history (with the exception of the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present
LGBT+ source This link opens in a new window
Covers the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues.
Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as non-fiction books, bibliographies and dissertations. Disciplines include athletics, health, law, sociology, family, religion, civil liberties, employment and entertainment.
MasterFile Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 1,950 popular magazines covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Need Help?

Humanities Librarian

Jeff Staiger

Email Me

Contact:

541-346-1897 | jstaiger@uoregon.edu

Subjects: Biographies, Cinema Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English, Folklore, Honors College, Literature/ Literary Criticism, Philosophy, Romance Languages, Theater Arts