Persistent Links for Library Resources

Gale uses a bookmark to create a persistent link to an article. 

Creating a bookmark, or a persistent link, in a Gale database provides access to the article only if the full-text of the article is available in an Gale database.  Not all citations in the Gale databases provide access to the full-text of the article.   Articles that include the full-text will offer a link "Download PDF" and show "Full-Text" by the format of the item.   If the full text of an article is not available in the Gale database, use the FindText button to see if the article is available from another journal package or database.

After you run a search in the database, click on the title of the article to which you want to create a bookmark or persistent link.  From the citation record, click on the bookmark icon in the top right of the window.

Copy the Bookmark URL in the popup screen.   Be sure to copy the entire URL.  The full link to the article will be similar to this:  http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=AONE&sw=w&u=s8492775&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CA188584132&asid=47c6bacca2c4f24decd0cc8ed1c03922.

You will need to add the proxy prepend, https://uoregon.idm.oclc.org/login?url=, to the bookmark URL to insure that students will be able to access this acticle when off-campus.   The proxied URL will look like:

https://uoregon.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=AONE&sw=w&u=s8492775&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CA188584132&asid=47c6bacca2c4f24decd0cc8ed1c03922

Gale Databases available through UO Libraries