Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

ASIA 350: What is Asia?

UO Special Collections

Special Collections and University Archives hold over 3,000 collections; more than a million items ranging from medieval codices and rare books to literary and historical manuscripts, university archives, original art, photographs, architectural drawings, and ephemera. The department preserves regional history, provides curriculum support, and assists amateur and scholarly researchers in many fields, including Japanese Studies.

Gertrude Bass Warner Collection (Chinese, Japanese and Korean materials)

Gertrude Bass Warner (1863–-1951) was an art enthusiast, internationalist, and traveler. On her first trip to Asia in 1904, she became fascinated with the region and began, with her husband Murray Warner, to collect art and documentation of art and culture in Asia.The collection documents Asian art, culture, and architecture before World War II, in China, Japan, Korea and Cambodia.

                                                                

Collection of Japanese Votive Slips (nōsatsu)

The nōsatsu images in the University of Oregon’s collection cover a wide range of themes and topics including landscapes; depictions of figures from Edo-period popular fiction and theatre; shrines and temples; seasonal celebrations; mythical creatures; firefighters; Japanese toys and collectibles; and prints showing the activities of the nōsatsu-kai members themselves.   

                                                                                   

 

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift