Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Research After Graduation

What library resources or services are available to you after you graduate from the University of Oregon? How can it help you with finding information about finding a job, getting a job, and being successful at that job.

UO Libraries Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Can I use the UO Libraries catalog after I graduate?
Yes, you can but some some of the resources will not be available to you (such as searching the library databases).

Can I use FindText to get UO licensed articles after I graduate?
Yes, you can use FindText for full-text of articles for one term after you graduate.

Can I use Academic Search Premier from my computer after I graduate?
Yes, you can use UO licensed databases (such as Academic Search Premier) for one term after you graduate. You can tell which are UO licensed materials by looking at the Databases A-Z list and those with the padlock are UO licensed databases.

Can I search WorldCat after I graduate?
WorldCat at http://www.worldcat.org is a free database of materials from a huge network of libraries around the world; this means you can search WorldCat at anytime and results will show up when doing a Google search. Some of the materials will be available to you a term after graduation, but afterwards, you'll want to check with your local library to see if they have what you are looking for because interlibrary loan (ILL) will not be available to you.

Can I access full-text of all Google Scholar articles after I graduate?
Yes, you will see the UO FindText Link if you use the Google Schola link on the Databases A-Z list. But after you use your library privileges (about a term after graduation), you will not be able to get full-text of all articles - only those that are free or open access.

Can I get online articles from any database after I graduate for free?
Yes, but only for one term after graduation. When your library privileges ends, if you visit a public university library, you can search for and get full-text for free if they have access to it. Otherwise, making an interlibrary loan (ILL) request will cost you.

Can I walk in and use a library in a hospital or a public university to get electronic articles?
Yes (for the most part). You can use the library's computers to search databases and get electronic articles.

How long do I have access to library services (such as checkouts, ILL, UO FindText, etc.) after graduation?
One term after graduation. Depending on the public university, you may be able to get a library card to check out materials. In Oregon, we have the Oregon Card Program that allows Oregon residents to borrow library materials for free. UO Alumni have additional privileges for borrowing at the UO Libraries.

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text