Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

WR Courses

Resources for Writing 123 courses. For subject specific resources, please check out the guides by subject page: http://researchguides.uoregon.edu.

Why Cite Your Sources

  • Professional honesty and courtesy: writers have an obligation to indicate when they have used someone else's ideas or words.
  • Citing sources strengthens the authority of your work.  It demonstrates that you have engaged other thinking on the subject you are writing about.
  • Accurate citations help others locate the materials you used in your research.
  • University of Oregon's Student Conduct and Community Standards

Bibliographic Management Tools

Free tool for bibliographies/reference lists and collecting your papers in one place. It has two components:

Install Mendeley Desktop on your personal computer(s), and use it to:

  • extract citation information (metadata) from pdf files that are on your desktop
  • organize your files, citations
  • set up a Watch Folder to automatically import files
  • view, annotate pdfs
  • connect to groups, share papers
  • insert footnotes and bibliographies with the included plug-in for Word and OpenOffice

Log in to Mendeley web, from any computer, to:

  • connect to your collection from other computers
  • connect to groups, share papers
  • add citations from your web browser
Tutorials on the Mendeley site, and from the University of Sheffield.

​Mendeley Apps for iPhone/iPod/iPad, and some some "Mendeley-lite" Apps for Android.

Free for individual private use, with 1 GB of storage and 1 private group of up to 3 users. Extend your storage options by synchronizing with 
DropBox (see this and this), or other cloud providers. Use premium plans for more storage, or for larger teams.

Need more help?  Contact one of our Mendeley experts: 

A free plug-in (downloadable application) for Firefox. Tracks and organizes your sources, and can output your citations into bibliographies in a variety of formats (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.) 

You cannot download Zotero onto the library's public workstations. You can download it onto your own Internet-connected computer.

You can download Zotero and review tutorials here.

UO users (students, staff, and faculty) should set Zotero's OpenURL resolver to map to the UO's SFX tool.  This will allow you to link from citations in your Zotero library to the full-text of articles within our online databases.

To do this:

  1. Open Zotero.
  2. Click on the gear icon in the menu bar.
  3. Click "Preferences"
  4. Click on the "Advanced" tab.
  5. In the bottom section of the screen, under "OpenURL," choose "Custom" in the drop-down menu and paste this URL into the "Resolver" field: http://library.uoregon.edu/dc/librarysearch/findtext
  6. Close "Preferences."

Zotero offers a web-based online service.  This requires you to create a user account, but then allows you access to your Zotero library from any Internet-connected computer.  It also allows you to access group libraries created by other Zotero users. To learn more about Zotero 2.0, click here.

For more in-depth troubleshooting, check the Zotero support pages and forums.

Need more help?  Contact one of our Zotero experts:

EndNote Online (also known as EndNote Basic) accounts are available free to UO faculty, students, and staff.   Sign up for an account at this page (You must be on a UO computer or using the UO's VPN to create an account.  Once the account is created, you do not have to use the VPN or a UO computer) 

The EndNote software is available for purchase.  It is similar to the online version but but with many more bells and whistles. UO faculty, students, staff should purchase EndNote through the UO Bookstore's Digital Duck to receive an academic discount.

These programs organize and group references in any way that works for you and then allows you to work with your citations in word processing software.

Need more help?  Contact one of our EndNote experts:

Loading

Plagiarism and Vericite

Plagiarism is the use of another person’s words or ideas without due acknowledgment.  It may be intentional or unintentional.  To make sure you have avoided plagiarism in your work, you should:

Accurately quote the original author's words.

Enclose the quotation within quotation marks.

Follow the quotation with an in-text citation.

Introduce the quotation with a phrase that includes the author' name (e.g., Baxter argues that...)

Provide a list of references with full citation information at the end of the paper.

 

Quick Tips for Paraphrasing:

Paraphrasing or summarizing doesn't mean just changing a couple of words from the original work.

Acknowledge the source through in-text citations immediately following the paraphrase.

Review some good examples of paraphrasing and learn the techniques that will improve your paraphrasing.

 

Vericite is a plagiarism detection service employed by the UO that identifies potentially plagiarized or improperly cited text. The service automatically checks submitted work against an index of online sources.  It can be accessed through your Canvas course site if your instructor has activated it for particular assignments.   

 

Video - Avoiding Plagiarism: What Do I Need to Cite?*

This one-minute video clarifies how to cite when you cite another author's words or another author's ideas.

 

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Need a Subject Specialist?