Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Grants/Foundations

Government Funding

Grants.gov lists all current discretionary funding opportunities from 26 agencies of the United States government, including the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, and many others

Grants/Foundations

Foundation Center - Knowledge to build on.

The UO Libraries belong to the national Funding Information Network. As a subscriber to this network, we provide access to an array grant and foundation information.

Foundation Center Resources   

These databases are available to everyone in the UO Libraries and remotely to UO students, staff, and faculty:

Finding grants:

 FDO banner ad   Foundation Directory Online Professional:  "Updated weekly, Foundation Directory Online Professional provides access to essential facts on grantmakers and their funding activities worldwide."

 gtio banner Foundation Grants to Individuals Online:  "Find sources for scholarships, fellowships, grants, awards and other financial support from foundations for individuals." 

Information about the world of philanthropy:

Philanthropy News DigestPhilanthropy News Digest (PND) a daily news service of the Foundation Center, is a compendium, in digest form, of philanthropy-related articles and features culled from print and electronic media outlets nationwide.

Print Resources

The Knight Library Reference area contains a variety of grant print resource published by The Foundation Center. A selected list is below.

  • The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing
  • The Foundation Center's Guide to Winning Proposals
  • The Foundation Directory
  • Foundation Fundamentals
  • The Foundation 1000
  • Guide to Funding for International and Foreign Programs
  • Guide to U.S. Foundations, Their Trustees, Officers, and Donors
  • National Directory of Corporate Giving

Using Grant Information

Grant materials may be used by any member of the public. The print collection does not circulate, but photocopiers and scanners are available. Information provided by computers can be printed for a small per-page fee or downloaded. Users do their own research; librarians at the Reference Desk are available to offer basic assistance.

UO Faculty

For UO faculty:  Research Development Services provides a variety of services for faculty seeking support for research, performance, public service and scholarly projects.  Including a section on Funding & Awards

Oregon Specific

Finding Oregon foundations:

In addition to using the Grantmaker Location option in the Foundation Center databases you can start with:

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Linguistics Librarian

Katy Lenn's picture
Katy Lenn
Contact:
klenn@uoregon.edu
541.346.3072