In addition to the catalogs, article databases, and newspapers described here, the following sources can be useful for researching the history of Springfield. For further assistance, contact the History Librarian, David Woken, at email@example.com.
- Index to the Oregon Historical Quarterly (REF KNIGHT F871 .O43)
Three volumes covering the Oregon Historical Quarterly from the 1900 through 1980. The fourth volume, covering 1981-2000, is available online.
- Sanborn fire insurance maps.
Historic large scale maps with building detail for Oregon cities. Springfield coverage includes 1907 and 1912-1960.
- GLO maps and survey notes (survey notes are viewable in Internet Explorer)
General Land Office township plat maps for the Springfield area. The Springfield site lies in two townships and two ranges: T17S R2W - T17S R3W and T18S R2W - T18S R3W.
- Springfield Oregon Historic Commission Links to local, statewide, and national resources.
- Springfield Celebrates 125 Years, magazine (PDF) City of Springfield's publication. Includes Springfield timeline and significant events, people, and locations.
- Springfield Museum
- Springfield city history: Includes city history viewable by Springfield and surrounding areas, year, people, and organization.
- Building Oregon Images and documentation on the architectural heritage of Oregon with specific emphasis on historical sites. May be searched or browsed by city.
- Lane County Historical Society and Museum. Photo Catalog includes images of Lane County. Collection includes photographs on topics such as industry, aerial views, geographical features, and street scenes. Catalog may be searched by city.
- Oregon Historic Sites Database.
Beta version of a database of historic sites, which may be searched by city, building style or function.
- Census reports. Census data published earlier than 1990 must be found in printed reports, which are maintained in the Document Center.