Research Guides: Political Science: Finding Articles

Review Articles

Review articles (or literature reviews) are a great way to get an overview of a research area, with many references to scholarly and research articles. Review articles undergo peer-review and thus qualify as scholarly articles.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window

The Annual Review journals are a good source of review articles.

Web of Science (see under Scholarly & Peer-reviewed Articles) is also good: do your search and then limit your results to reviews on the left side.

Scholarly & Peer-reviewed Articles

Here are the top recommended article databases for political science:

Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of 4 index and full-text databases covering political science and public policy: PAIS Index, Policy Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the above collection of databases, plus coverage of many journals in the social sciences, including sociology, criminology, and education.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, covering the natural and social sciences,making it a good starting point for areas such as environmental politics and policy. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Specialized databases

See the full list of databases for political science here.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs This link opens in a new window
Wide range of scholarship focusing on international affairs that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
Gale OneFile. Environmental studies and policy This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Covers the field of environmental issues and policy, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers issues relating to government, security and the military in academic journals, magazines, and government documents and reports.
Politico Pro This link opens in a new window
Politico Pro provides policy analysis, news, Congressional activity tracking, infographics, documents, and much more in major policy areas at US federal and state levels, and for Europe.
PRISMA database This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.

Political Science

Review Articles

Scholarly & Peer-reviewed Articles

Specialized databases

Need Help?