Research Guides: BA 316/MGMT 311: Creating Value through People &amp; Managing People in Organizations: Start

Welcome

Find the types of sources that you need by selecting the options in the menu on the left -- for instance "Company Research" or "Consumer Research".

Search Suggestions

Picking search terms that actually get you to the information you want for this class's assignments often requires experimentation. Here are a couple suggestions to get you started:

personnel management
organizational change
human resource management
labor relations
dismissal of employees
employee attitudes

Try using these terms and others you discover in both your library searches and in regular web searches to see what new information you uncover in each location.

New Resource!

Gartner Campus Access This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource is provided through UO's User Support Services. The Gartner Campus Access program provides faculty, students, and staff free, unlimited access to the Gartner research library which helps translate complex IT issues into comprehensive advice and meaningful analysis. This access includes Gartner's Hype Cycles, Magic Quadrants, research papers, and statistics.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a data and mapping application with access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
Street & Smith's SportsBusiness journal This link opens in a new window
Sports Business Journal (SBJ) is a leading source for sports industry news, original reporting, and news aggregation. This subscription provides full access to SBJ's Daily, Weekly, and archival content, as well as their newsletters, podcasts, and videos.
Athletic This link opens in a new window
The Athletic is a service of The New York Times providing national and local sports coverage in the US and UK at the college and professional level. The subscription the Athletics' long-form journalism, original reporting, analysis, podcasts, mobile apps, and email newsletters.
Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries
Wall Street journal This link opens in a new window
This subscription provides current UO faculty, students, and staff access to domestic and international business news, commentary, podcasts, blogs, WSJ+, and more. First-time users create a free account at this link. Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries’ subscription

Handbooks & Overviews

Oxford Dictionary of Human Resource Management by Edmund Heery
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0191827827
Publication Date: 2017
This is an accessible source of definitions of words, terms, and phrases encountered in the fields of HR management, personnel, and industrial relations.
Sustainable Human Resource Management by Carolina Machado (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 8770221200
Publication Date: 2020
Sustainable Human Resource Management: Policies and Practices covers sustainable human resource management in a context where organizations are continually facing significant challenges related to change in the market, as well as the environment.
Practicing Organization Development by William J. Rothwell (Editor); Jacqueline M. Stavros (Editor); Roland L. Sullivan (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781118947722
Publication Date: 2015
Practicing Organization Development explores the cutting edge of change management, leadership development, organizational transformation, and society benefit.

Connect to the UO Network from Off Campus

1. Library Proxy Service

Links on library webpages (including in LibrarySearch, Browzine, and Databases A-Z) run through a proxy server which verifies you are a UO member, and are eligible to access library materials. When you click on a proxied link for the first time in the session, you are prompted to enter your DuckID and password to access the resource.

2. VPN (Virtual Private Network) Service

For certain library resources, using the UO's VPN service will be necessary. VPN is not necessary for Canvas or LibrarySearch access.

If the proxied links or bookmarklet aren't working for you, the VPN lets you join the UO's network from off-campus. Using the VPN slows your internet speed, so only connect when you need to access resources, and disconnect once you're done.

For more information on accessing Library resources from off-campus, please check the following links:

BA 316/MGMT 311: Creating Value through People & Managing People in Organizations

Need Help?

Business & Entrepreneurship Librarian