Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Artists' Books

Artists' Books Collection at the University of Oregon Libraries

Weekly Artists' Book Feature

Interior image from Kara Walker's book, "Freedom, A Fable."

The featured artists' book this week is Freedom, A Fable: A Curious Interpretation of the Wit of a Negress in Troubled Times by Kara Walker. This book looks like a 19th-century children's pop-up book, but the story is of the brutality, expectations, and lack of security experienced by freed slaves post-emancipation. The book is currently on view in the exhibition You Must Never Look Away From This at Special Collections & University Archives (Knight Library).

Weekly featured artists' books are posted most Wednesdays on our Instagram account. Follow us!

University of Oregon Artists' Books Collection

The University of Oregon holds over 800 artists' books! These are available for research, instruction, or general interest. If you would like to see the artists' books collection email the art librarian to set up an appointment: sdewaay@uoregon.edu.

Access UO Artists' Books

The artists' books are held in a secure location, but a librarian will happily help you access the collection.

Online Collection: 
oregondigital.org/sets/artists-books

Design Library Artists' Books:
Contact sdewaay@uoregon.edu to make an appointment. It is helpful if you have an idea of what you are looking for when you email so that Sara can have things ready for you when you arrive. All books are held in the Design Library in 200 Lawrence Hall.

Special Collections Artists' Books:
To explore artists' books in Special Collections, contact SCUA: http://library.uoregon.edu/special-collections/email.

Other Artists' Books Collections

Artists' Books Resources

Art + Architecture Librarian

Sara DeWaay - Art, Art History, Arts Admin, Design's picture
Sara DeWaay - Art, Art History, Arts Admin, Design
Contact:
Design Library
200 Lawrence Hall
sdewaay@uoregon.edu
541-346-8785

Current exhibtion

You Must Never Look Away From This: An Artists' Books Selection Inspired by Between the World and Me
Winter 2017

Interior image from "Colored People" by Adrian Piper shows a black and white photograph of a person's face with green scribbled over it.

This is a joint exhibition between Special Collections & University Archives and the Design Library. It highlights artists' books that relate to themes in this year's common reading selection, Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates. The books on view address race, identity, privilege, capitalism, education, diaspora, and family - as lived, studied, observed, and expressed by a variety of artists.

Past exhibitions

Image of the artist book "Salsa."
Picnic Time! (Summer 2016). This is an exhibit of artists' books related to food.

Interior of the book Cuts, Snarls, and Snags depicts hair on a piece of typed paper.
Cuts, Snarls, Snags, and the Black Hole (Spring 2016). This exhibit explores artists' books made with hair.