Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Art

A guide with resources relevant to fine and visual arts.

Articles Introduction

This page is a brief overview of how to find both physical and electronic articles. It includes article databases relevant to the arts, and information about how to request articles not available on campus.

As always, if you get stuck or need help getting started, you can contact your librarian! The art librarian can be reached at sdewaay@uoregon.edu.

Start here!

Art Databases

Multidisciplinary indexes and databases

Multidisciplinary databases are a good place to start regardless of if your topic is related to art or not, especially in the early stages of research. For topics not related to art, start here, and if you need more in-depth information, talk to your librarian, or visit a research guide related to your subject.

Useful databases in other disciplines

Depending on the type of project you are working on, you might need to use a non-art database. Below are some commonly covered topics, but we have access to hundreds more. Contact your librarian, sdewaay@uoregon.edu, if you need other databases.

Newspapers

Newspapers can be great places to find reviews of exhibitions, or information about artists.

Design Library Help

Chat Email Phone Text

Art + Architecture Librarian

Sara DeWaay - Art, Art History, Arts Admin, Design's picture
Sara DeWaay - Art, Art History, Arts Admin, Design
Contact:
Design Library
200 Lawrence Hall
sdewaay@uoregon.edu
541-346-8785

Getting articles

When using databases to find articles, sometimes the article will be available as a PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text. In these cases you can click on those links and access the article immediately. 

If PDF or HTML is not available you can use the FindText buttonscreen shot of "FindText" button.

FindText will search the library catalog to see if the article is available elsewhere through the library, either online or in print. If you are not able to find the item through the FindText button, you can request articles through ILLiad.