Just like with other written work, Wikipedia is strongest if the sources used are discoverable by readers. This might mean being directly discoverable by including a link, or that they have the full citation so that a reader can find the item at a library. Click here for more about citing sources in Wikipedia.
Resources with this symbol can only be accessed by people affiliated with the University of Oregon. Others who wish to access these resources can use the computers marked "Internet Kiosk" on the main floor of the Design Library, use physical resources in the library, or use some of the openly available resources listed on this page.
A number of books will be available at the event for people to look through. However, you can search for your own topics in the library catalog.
If you are a community member, without affiliation to the University of Oregon, who has a public library card, you may be able to access materials through the online databases administered by the Eugene or Springfield Public Libraries. You will need to know your library barcode and password.
Eugene Public Library:
Academic OneFile: provides access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals.
General OneFile: a one-stop source for news and articles on a wide range of topics.
Springfield Public Library:
Gale Magazine and Newspaper Index: search by subject for articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
In most cases, it will be easier to use the online databases to find information about a specific artist. However, if you are trying to find a topic, or do not have access to the databases, browsing through physical journals is both fun and helpful. Physical copies of the journals at the Design Library are located either on the main floor of the library (recent issues) or in the stacks (older, bound issues). Anyone can browse the recent issues, or use LibrarySearch.
Open EJournals - these are journals that anyone can access!
Directory of Open Access Journals: Searchable database of open access journals in all disciplines.
Open Arts Journal: An open journal of peer-reviewed arts scholarship.
Journal of Arts & Humanities: Peer-reviewed journal that focuses on the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485