From 10am-12pm come by the Design Library in 200 Lawrence Hall to see rare books, artists' books, and drawings from our secure collections. Below are examples of some of the content we will have on view.
Rare Books
Antichità d'Albano e di Castel Gandolfo descritte ed incise da Giovambattista Piranesi. by
Piranesi created this work to describe a major Roman engineering achievement, the Lake Albano drainage outlet. The book includes many of Piranesi's most dramatic views. Piranesi's archaeological studies in the area of Lake Albano were supported by Pope Clement XIII, whose Castel Gandolfo overlooked the lake. Clement XIII helped defray the considerable costs of this work.
Written and illustrated by artist Giambattista Piranesi (Italian, 1720-1778) and printed in Rome in 1764, this amazing work includes etchings and engravings of the areas surrounding Rome. This is a rare opportunity to see one of his original works up close.
Delle magnificenze di Roma antica e moderna da Guiseppe Vasi da Corleone. by
Vasi published his masterwork, Delle Magnificenze di Roma from 1747 to 1761, in ten volumes. Each volume consists of 20 full size plates with illustrated frontispiece and dedicatory inscription for each. These plates are augmented by smaller images or rametti (literally small copper plates) which average four per book and are interspersed within the body of the text. The text itself is extensive, written by others but presumably supervised by Vasi.
Italian engraver and architect, Giuseppe Vasi (1710-1782) created 240 engravings of Rome for these volumes which were printed in Rome between 1747 and 1761.
Plans, elevations, sections, and details of the Alhambra ... by the late Jules Goury ... by Owen Jones
Owen Jones (1809-1874) was an architect, designer, and one of the most influential deisgn theorists of the 19th century. He was interested in a unique 19th century design style distinct from classical or Gothic influences. He looked toward Islamic designs in Africa and Spain. Flat patterns, polychromy appealed to him. Traveled with French architect Jules Goury to record Alhambra; Goury died of cholera at the Alhambra in 1834. Jones, intent on replicating the color of the Alhambra, used the new process of chromolithography and took ten years to publish Plans, Elevations (1836-45).
Architects Owen Jones and Jules Goury traveled together to record Alhambra. These materials were created using a new process called chromolithography.
Chaseki okoshiezu mokuroku; 茶席起繪圖目錄
Two wooden cases, with mounted labels and hand-calligraphed titles on exteriors, lists of contents mounted inside of wooden tops. Cases house 89 folding plates with elaborate pop-up and cut-out features creating measured three-dimensional depictions of tea houses designed by famous figures in tea ceremony history.
Labels on lids identify the collection as the product of Yamada Yasujirō, a tea utensils dealer in Tokyo.
A charming book consisting of 89 pop-up tea houses housed in two wooden cases.
Artists' Books
Ste. Ostrich in Manhattan: The Visitations of a Martyr by 
Dear Mohamed Atta by 
Artists' books exhibition: Picnic Time!
For more information about special collections at the Design Library, visit the Design Library Special Collections website.
Archives Fest 2016 Schedule
#ArchivesFest
10a.m. - 12noon
Open House: View original art, rare books, and papers from authors Urusla K. Le Guin and Ken Kesey.
Locations: Special Collections & University Archives (Paulson Reading Room, 2N Knight Library, 1501 Kincaid St. Eugene, OR) and Design Library (200 Lawrence Hall, 1190 Franklin Blvd)
12noon - 2p.m.
Take a tour of the Eugene Pioneer Cemetery, led by local historians. (First tour starts at 12:15p.m. Thereafter, tours depart every 20 minutes.)
Location: meet at Memorial Square in the Eugene Pioneer Cemetery (next to Knight Library)
Enjoy the new Elements Ca-Fe and DeArmond MakerSpace in Price Science Commons. View large-scale, high-resolution images of art and archival materials in the Visualization Lab.
Location: Price Science Commons and Research Library, (1318 Franklin Blvd, Onyx Bridge, Lower Level)
2-4 p.m.
Learn how to preserve your photographs, sound recordings, digital media and home movies from UO Libraries curators
Location: Knight Library Browsing Room, (1501 Kincaid St. Eugene, OR)
4-6 p.m.
Enjoy a screening of highlights from the UO historic film collection. Snacks and refreshments provided.
Location: Knight Library Browsing Room, (1501 Kincaid St. Eugene, OR)
All events are free and open to the public. RSVP encouraged.
Accommodations for people with disabilities will be provided if requested in advance by calling 541-346-3056, or emailing libadmin@uoregon.edu.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
