Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Scholarly Metrics

Tools for determining the scholarly impact of researhers, journals, and research articles.

Alt-Metric Resources

RESEARCHER / P.I. METRICS

Orcid ID – A unique identifier for tracking a particular researcher and that researcher publication output

Citation Reports – Part of the Web-of-Science /Web-of-Knowledge suite of databases by Thomson-Reuters.  This tool will allow users to track the publications by a researcher and will provide the years, citations received (by year and by article).  The Citation Index also graphs these data on the fly.

H-Index – (Based on Web-of-Science Data) and index of that combines both the number of citations a research has received and the number of publications that the researcher has published.

(PeerEvaluation, LinkedIn, Academia.edu)

 

ARTICLE METRICS

Web of Science / Web of Knowledge  – Searching for a topic via WOS/WOK and then sorting the results by the number of citations each has received, provides a method of identifying articles that has received the most attention.  It provides a proxy for identifying articles that has had an impact on a particular subject or research field. It also provides a proxy for identifying researchers that have had an impact in a particular field.  There are caveats:  Recent papers that may be influential are likely to have low citation numbers because they are so new and have yet to be cited.  Finally, it is possible for a paper to be cited for a glaring problem.

Google Scholar  – This tool sorts papers on a topic by Google’s secret algorithm. However, Google does state that the number of citations is included in their formula and those with higher numbers of citations are moved towards the top of the list of returned results.

Microsoft Academic Search – An online tool for researching scholars and their article citations.

Faculty of 1000 – This database is a collection of ranked research papers organized by topic and ranked by researchers in the discipline of the topic.

Plos One – This is journal that relies on crowd sourcing (views, comments, downloads) to identify influential papers

PeerJPreprints – An open access online journal that ranks the download numbers of each author publishing in the database.

 

JOURNAL METRICS

JCR - Journal Citation Reports – This tool provides several metrics for determining the impact of a journal on a research field and all are based on the number of citations.

 

LIBRARY METRICS

Using the OCLC WorldShare Analytics tool, the library can generate custom benchmark reports of the holdings of UO Libraries in comparison with most other libraries in the world, and can also generate lists of holdings from these other libraries. These comparisons and lists can be very broad-based, or can be very subject-specific, as defined by the LC Classification system.

Canned reports have been produced for 2015, and are available, comparing the UO Libraries to the following groupings; Other reports can be created on request:

  • Orbis Cascade Alliance (our regional consortium, 37 members)
  • Greater Northwest Library Alliance (our national consortium, 35 members)
  • Association of Research Libraries (124 members)
  • Association of American Universities (62 members)
  • Carnegie Research/Very High Universities (108 members)
  • Carnegie Research/High Universities (98 members)
  • Canadian Association of Research Libraries (32 members)
  • Non-Research Carnegie Universities with Medical Schools (18 members)

If interested in such data, please contact: Dave Fowler, dcfowler@uoregon.edu

 

OTHER USEFUL OR INTERESTING TOOLS & METRICS

There are major three library/faculty analytics systems that are available, but which the library does not subscribe to:

EBSCO/Plum Analytics  – UO Does not participate in any facet of Plum Analytics at this time.

Web of Science/InCites – In addition to their indexing and citation products, UO has the basic Journal Citation Reports available, as well as Essential Science Indicators. We do not get their InCites analytics tool, which would allow H Index, industry, peer institution and international comparisons of faculty output from both here and other institutions. It can also measure research output of our faculty, and what journals they publish in, and are cited in.

Elsevier / Scopus / SciVal  – The basic Scopus product is similar in many ways to the Web of Citation product that we have, that is, it provides abstract and citation data to journals, books, etc.  

The Scopus analytics tool is called SciVal, and would offer generally the same types of comparisons that WoS InCites offers, though drawn from the Scopus dataset, which is now a bit larger, though shallower than that of WoS. SciVal is probably also better in mapping multidisciplinary research, and emerging research areas, whereas InCites is more linear within fixed subject areas.

Web of Science vs. Scopus

In terms of comparison, Scopus has started to outstrip WoS in terms of numbers of indexed journals. It is weaker than WoS in the humanities and in some social science areas. Scopus indexes from only 1996 forward, whereas WoS goes back to 1900 (though our paid backfiles only go to 1965). Scopus has no present plans to cover earlier dates. Scopus also cover books, whereas WoS is weak in that area.

One analysis has indicated that InCites is more of a straight benchmarking tool, and more useful to faculty, where SciVal is better at looking at your “market share,” and thus is may be better suited for administrators, evaluators and analytics specialists.

Altmetrics Tools – By Altmetric.com  Suite of tools (ReaderMeter, ScienceCard, ImpactStory, PLoS Explorer, PaperCritic & CrowdMeter)

TweetCred – A free plug-in tool on Chrome that uses a connection algorithm to determine the credibility of tweets from reliable sources