Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

AAD 252: Art and Gender

Research guide for AAD 252: Art and Gender.

How do I choose a database?

UO has over 400 databases. Databases bring together articles related to a subject such as art, history, or science, and it's helpful to use databases most closely related to your topic.

For this class you will want to concentrate on databases related to art and gender studies. Try the ones listed on this page. If you can't find any articles relevant to your paper topic, contact your librarian for help.

Art Databases

Gender Studies Databases

All Purpose Databases

Evaluating Sources

Below are some important things to consider when you are choosing which books, articles, and websites to use in your assignments.

Reliability: Is the information accurate and dependable? Do the facts match up?
Credibility: Is the author an expert? What are their credentials?
Validity: Where is the information coming from? It is personal opinion or research-based? Is there a bibliography or works cited section you can refer to?
Timeliness: When was it published?
Audience: Who was the article written for? Children? Scholars? Sometimes you can tell by the language - complexity and jargon suggest that it is written for a knowledgeable audience.
Bias: Does it discuss multiple sides of an issue or just one? Why was it written - for sales? to sway opinion?
Relevance: Does it address your research topic? How well? Read the abstract or introduction and conclusion to figure this out.

Considering all of these elements can help determine if your source is a good one to use for your topic. You often don't need to read the whole item to evaluate a source. Read the abstract or introduction and conclusion to make a decision about if the resource is going to work for you. If it is, then read the whole thing.

Design Library Help

Chat Email Phone Text

Chosing a database

Art + Architecture Librarian

Sara DeWaay - Art, Art History, Arts Admin, Design's picture
Sara DeWaay - Art, Art History, Arts Admin, Design
Contact:
Design Library
200 Lawrence Hall
sdewaay@uoregon.edu
541-346-8785

Getting articles

When using databases to find articles, sometimes the article will be available as a PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text. In these cases you can click on those links and access the article immediately. 

If PDF or HTML is not available you can use the FindText buttonscreen shot of "FindText" button.

FindText will search the library catalog to see if the article is available elsewhere through the library, either online or in print. If you are not able to find the item through the FindText button, you can request articles through ILLiad.